Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Very good if you make the changes suggested in the reviews. I’m rating this low because if you make it as is there is not nearly enough fruit and the topping becomes like a hard crust because of too much butter. So, I made the same changes everyone else recommended: DOUBLE THE FRUIT to 6 cups (I used about 4 cups rhubarb and 2 cups strawberries). For the topping I added 1 tsp SALT as well as ¼ tsp ALLSPICE. And definitely use only ½ CUP BUTTER if you want the crumbly topping shown in the picture. I made it both ways so I feel confident with these changes. I did not increase the sugar when I added more fruit and it was sweet enough (rhubarb should have a slight sour). I made this ahead so I could serve a warm desert and it was great. I hade the fruit mixture refrigerated in the baking dish and I just kept the topping separate until it was time to put in the oven. I baked it as directed before I wanted to serve it and topped with vanilla ice cream while it was still warm, yum. I had many requests for the recipe and many rave reviews. Hope this helps – happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
397 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Oak Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I made several changes based on other reviews. I increased the rhubarb to 6C and added an extra tablespoon of flour to the fruit to thicken it a bit better. I also cut the butter to 3/4C and added a bit of salt and cinnamon to the topping. Otherwise I left the recipe the same. It turned out pretty good with these changes...a good proportion of fruit to topping and a nice combination of sweetness and tartness. The low rating is because the recipe needed to be changed in the first place..."as is" this recipe wouldn't have enough fruit and 1C of butter seemed excessive. In my opinion if a recipe has to be altered this much then it is not deserving of such a high rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
I altered this one. I increased rhubarb to 6 cups, the sugar by half a cup and then added a pint of strawberries and a peach, which really adds to the overall flavor. Everyone went nuts over this one. Our house came with an 80 year old rhubarb plant, this was the first recipie I tried for it. Will be making this one, again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This is a fantastic rhubarb recipe. I own a small restaurant and this dessert was a huge hit with my customers! I took other reviewers advice and increased the amount of rhubarb to 6 cups and the sugar to 2 cups. The combination was perfect, tart but not too tart and the wonderful sweet topping was just the right balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Only gave it 5 stars after following other people's suggestions and it was super delish! I used 6 cups rhubarb and 1/2 cup raspberries and 1 and 1/4 cup white sugar and it was still PLENTY sweet. Also, I only had 1/2 cup butter so I decreased the flour to 1 cup and the topping turned out perfectly yummy. There was still lots of topping compared to fruit, so I wouldn't make it with only 3 cups fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Hot Dish

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
A definite winner!!! Even my husband, who is not a rhubarb fan, loved this dessert. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I made this recipe using the some of the recommendations; doubled the fruit, halved the topping, and it turned out great!! I used 1 1/2 c sugar, and it was tart, just the way I like it. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
All I can say about this one is.....YUM, YUM, YUM! I made it last night for my mom that likes rhubarb and....she loved it! Even my little one gobbled it up. The only changes I made was to use a 9x9 pan and I added an additional 1 1/2 cups of rhubarb and about a 1/2 cup more sugar and it was perfect! I will be making this one....again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This was gorgeous, but the only problem was i thought there was too much sugar. next time i will decrease the amount of sugar to half the amount? i added twice the amount of rhubarb because there would have definately been way too much topping otherwise. it certainly went down well in my household. thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I would have given this recipie 5 stars if it would have had the suggestions from previous reviewers. As it is written, I have not made it. I did make this- I used 4 cups of rhubarb and 12 oz. frozen strawberries, I also increased the flour to 4 T. I made the crust as is and served it with vanilla ice cream. It was a huge hit and I am making it again, 2 days later! I made this recipe a second time using some fresh peaches. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States