Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
As long as you adjust the amounts of rhubarb (double it) and topping (less of it depending on the size dish you use and to your liking) to balance the two, this is 5-star excellent. We love the combination of rhubarb and strawberries, so I used part strawberries in this recipe, reducing the sugar somewhat to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
More fruit, less butter, and it's a SUPER recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Never used or tasted rhubarb - but this was a winner for ages 3 to 73!! I ran short on rhubarb and supplimented with 2 granny smith apples (diced). Used all other recipe notes, but ran short on butter - only had 3/4 cup which was perfectly fine. Looking for a way to use this item and it was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superstepmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
As is, there is way too much topping for the amount of filling. Was very tasty though. I substituted Gluten free flour and it turned out very well. Next time would for sure double the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
If you are looking for a rhubarb dessert where rhubarb is the absolute star....this might not be the one for you. This recipe is more about the "CRUNCH"! I was short on time so I melted the butter and stirred it in, verses cutting it in, and it still turned out great. If you plan on serving it warm, you might want to add a little more flour to thicken it up. Other that that I thought it was a fine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
As written, I would be extremely unhappy with the way this recipe would have turned out. Luckily, I read others' reviews, and more than doubled the fruit (6 cups rhubarb, and about 1/2 lb strawberries.) I also added an extra couple of tbsp of flour to thicken, and added some cinnamon to the crumb mixture (which was great, by the way). Even if you love the topping, (which we do!) making it the original way the recipe states would be way too little fruit. Either way, everyone at my BBQ loved it served with sweetened fresh whipped cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe says to and it turned out great, everyone loved it. If you really love rhubarb then you could easily add more fruit, but I don't think it's necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshieRoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Agree with previous posters - needs at least 6C fruit. We did the 4C rhubarb, 2C strawberries, & 1 peach. It is fabulous! Be sure to add the 1t salt & 1/4t allspice. No need to add add'l sugar. And yes, reduce the butter. GREAT for High Altitude!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I feel like the ratio of topping to fruit is too high. This tastes more like oatmeal and butter than rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I made this by following the recipe exactly and it was gone in one evening, most of it before it even cooled. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States