Rhubarb Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
We made this recipe Sunday with a couple of minor changes. We put a half cup of chopped pecans in the crust and instead of water on the rhubarb we stirred about 1/3 cup of sour cream into our bowl of chopped rhubarb before putting it in the baking pan. We used 4 cups of rhubarb because that is how much we had and because we had a 9 by 9 pan instead of a pie pan. We also baked a rhubarb coffee cake, which was also good, but this was more rhubarb intense. Excellent! thanks! (I apologize to those who only want reviews using the EXACT recipe, but I like reviews with extra tips too, as long as they don't change the ENTIRE recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I was disappointed in this recipe. Too dry and not flavorful. It may taste better if a typical crisp topping mixture, like apple crisp, was used with more rhubarb. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This wa delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, except I also added 1 cup of strawberries. Served warm with ice cream - yum! Making for the 2nd time in 2 days due to my abundance of rhubarb in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Like Grammasue, I used the crumb mixture as a topping and put the whole thing in a regular pie crust. The only other change I made was that I only used 1/4 cup sugar over the rhubarb instead of 1/2 cup. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Ohhh my this is awesome. I didn't even like rhubarb! This is so easy and so delicious. I did use a deep dish pie crust so I added an additional cup to cup 1/2 of the rhubarb. I didn't need to change bake time either. YUMMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barneybbarbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This turned out quite good...I had to add extra butter to the crust mix to get it to the point where I could pat it into the pan. Also added a touch of vegetable oil for the same reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I did the crumble part only and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Added blueberries and more rhubarb.yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Turned out good. Kind of like a Rhubarb crisp. A good recipe to make when you want a pie but don't want to deal with the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I made this for my husband after recieving 10 quarts of frozen rhubarb. MY pie was actually only a 4 star, but I know it is because I used frozen than fresh. DH loved the crust, and wants me to use it with other pies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States