Rhubarb Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
We made this recipe Sunday with a couple of minor changes. We put a half cup of chopped pecans in the crust and instead of water on the rhubarb we stirred about 1/3 cup of sour cream into our bowl of chopped rhubarb before putting it in the baking pan. We used 4 cups of rhubarb because that is how much we had and because we had a 9 by 9 pan instead of a pie pan. We also baked a rhubarb coffee cake, which was also good, but this was more rhubarb intense. Excellent! thanks! (I apologize to those who only want reviews using the EXACT recipe, but I like reviews with extra tips too, as long as they don't change the ENTIRE recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I was disappointed in this recipe. Too dry and not flavorful. It may taste better if a typical crisp topping mixture, like apple crisp, was used with more rhubarb. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This wa delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, except I also added 1 cup of strawberries. Served warm with ice cream - yum! Making for the 2nd time in 2 days due to my abundance of rhubarb in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Like Grammasue, I used the crumb mixture as a topping and put the whole thing in a regular pie crust. The only other change I made was that I only used 1/4 cup sugar over the rhubarb instead of 1/2 cup. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Ohhh my this is awesome. I didn't even like rhubarb! This is so easy and so delicious. I did use a deep dish pie crust so I added an additional cup to cup 1/2 of the rhubarb. I didn't need to change bake time either. YUMMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barneybbarbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This turned out quite good...I had to add extra butter to the crust mix to get it to the point where I could pat it into the pan. Also added a touch of vegetable oil for the same reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I did the crumble part only and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Added blueberries and more rhubarb.yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Turned out good. Kind of like a Rhubarb crisp. A good recipe to make when you want a pie but don't want to deal with the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I made this for my husband after recieving 10 quarts of frozen rhubarb. MY pie was actually only a 4 star, but I know it is because I used frozen than fresh. DH loved the crust, and wants me to use it with other pies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States