Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
We have contacted the submitter of this recipe, and there was a typo in the amount of butter. We have changed it to 1/3 cup. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I thought it turned out fairly well! I would increase the butter to 3/4 to 1 cup in the crust/crisp portion instead of the 1/3 cup. I used 1/2 cup, and it was still a little dry, not crumbly. Also, I think the recipe has too MUCH crisp/crust. You could also leave the butter at 1/2 cup and cut the flour and brown sugar back to 2 cups each instead of 2 1/2 cups. Now for the RHUBARB portion, it was a bit sour in combination with the sweet of the crust. Also just a tad runny after I let it cool awhile (1 hr), so maybe increase the corn starch to 5 T (I used 4 T instead of 1/4 cup). And lastly, I increased the baking time to 40 to 45 minutes. :-) Be sure to place something on the rack below the baking pan as this recipe does seem to bubble over like a pie would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I thought the pie turned out just fine. But I have to say.. like some others who have used this recipe, I had to add a whole bunch of butter to even form a dough. I tripled the amount of butter the recipe suggests. It's still kinda crunchy but I don't think it's dry. This recipe is great. For the bakers who thought the rhubarb was too sour compared to the sweet crust... leave out a little sugar from the curst and for the rhubarb -> place all the chopped rhubarb in a microwavable bowl, pour a little water on the bottom of the bowl, microwave the rhubarb for 2-3 minutes on high in one minute intervals. The steam from the water should make the rhubarb a bit softer and not so sour after baking it in the oven. I also put a little more corn starch on the sugary mixture, it wasn't runny at all when I tasted the pie the following day. I cooked the pie for 45 minutes. Thank you for this easy recipe, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harlem, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I read all the reviews first, but was still confused by the amount of butter. 1/3 cup is too little and the rhubarb was still crunchy after 35 minutes of baking. I would double the cooking time and add more butter for the topping. A little more cornstarch for the sauce wouldn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
This is wonderful! The crust is yummy...I had plenty of it, and used some of it on top of an apple pie. I highly recommend trying it, especially for someone who's never eaten rhubarb before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I think the flour should be reduced to 1/3 cup! Way too much topping/crust for this recipe. Cook the cornstarch mixture until it turns clear. If not cooked long enough, the acid from the rhubarb breaks it when it bakes. I also baked it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
I read all your warnings before starting this recipe. I added about 1 1/2 cups of butter for the topping/crust- 1/3 is not enough! It tasted good but the center was runny and some of the rhubarb was still crunchy (baked for 30 min.) Next time I will add more cornstarch/flour to the center and bake it for a little longer (or cut the chunks of rhubarb finer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
When I took this crisp out of the oven it had pools of butter on top. I thought three cups seemed like a lot, but followed the recipe anyway. It has a good taste. I am going to try using three sticks next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I cut the recipe in half, and used more butter (1/2 cup), less than 1 cup white sugar, and 1/4 cup cornstarch (by mistake I added too much, but it worked just fine!). I also microwaved the rhubarb - cut up like celery - for 3 minutes, stirring after 3 minutes. Baked for about 50 minutes in a 9 x 7 x 2 1/2 (tall) pyrex dish - it did not bubble over with a tall dish. Thank you so much for this recipe - I haven't had Rhubarb in a long time and this was soooooo good! Maybe I'll plant some of my own rhubarb now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I agree the butter to dry ingredient ratio was WAY off and I didn't read the reviews before baking (TSK, TSK) this recipe - very disappointing and a waste of good rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States