Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
We have contacted the submitter of this recipe, and there was a typo in the amount of butter. We have changed it to 1/3 cup. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I thought it turned out fairly well! I would increase the butter to 3/4 to 1 cup in the crust/crisp portion instead of the 1/3 cup. I used 1/2 cup, and it was still a little dry, not crumbly. Also, I think the recipe has too MUCH crisp/crust. You could also leave the butter at 1/2 cup and cut the flour and brown sugar back to 2 cups each instead of 2 1/2 cups. Now for the RHUBARB portion, it was a bit sour in combination with the sweet of the crust. Also just a tad runny after I let it cool awhile (1 hr), so maybe increase the corn starch to 5 T (I used 4 T instead of 1/4 cup). And lastly, I increased the baking time to 40 to 45 minutes. :-) Be sure to place something on the rack below the baking pan as this recipe does seem to bubble over like a pie would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I thought the pie turned out just fine. But I have to say.. like some others who have used this recipe, I had to add a whole bunch of butter to even form a dough. I tripled the amount of butter the recipe suggests. It's still kinda crunchy but I don't think it's dry. This recipe is great. For the bakers who thought the rhubarb was too sour compared to the sweet crust... leave out a little sugar from the curst and for the rhubarb -> place all the chopped rhubarb in a microwavable bowl, pour a little water on the bottom of the bowl, microwave the rhubarb for 2-3 minutes on high in one minute intervals. The steam from the water should make the rhubarb a bit softer and not so sour after baking it in the oven. I also put a little more corn starch on the sugary mixture, it wasn't runny at all when I tasted the pie the following day. I cooked the pie for 45 minutes. Thank you for this easy recipe, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harlem, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I read all the reviews first, but was still confused by the amount of butter. 1/3 cup is too little and the rhubarb was still crunchy after 35 minutes of baking. I would double the cooking time and add more butter for the topping. A little more cornstarch for the sauce wouldn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
This is wonderful! The crust is yummy...I had plenty of it, and used some of it on top of an apple pie. I highly recommend trying it, especially for someone who's never eaten rhubarb before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I think the flour should be reduced to 1/3 cup! Way too much topping/crust for this recipe. Cook the cornstarch mixture until it turns clear. If not cooked long enough, the acid from the rhubarb breaks it when it bakes. I also baked it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
I read all your warnings before starting this recipe. I added about 1 1/2 cups of butter for the topping/crust- 1/3 is not enough! It tasted good but the center was runny and some of the rhubarb was still crunchy (baked for 30 min.) Next time I will add more cornstarch/flour to the center and bake it for a little longer (or cut the chunks of rhubarb finer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
When I took this crisp out of the oven it had pools of butter on top. I thought three cups seemed like a lot, but followed the recipe anyway. It has a good taste. I am going to try using three sticks next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I cut the recipe in half, and used more butter (1/2 cup), less than 1 cup white sugar, and 1/4 cup cornstarch (by mistake I added too much, but it worked just fine!). I also microwaved the rhubarb - cut up like celery - for 3 minutes, stirring after 3 minutes. Baked for about 50 minutes in a 9 x 7 x 2 1/2 (tall) pyrex dish - it did not bubble over with a tall dish. Thank you so much for this recipe - I haven't had Rhubarb in a long time and this was soooooo good! Maybe I'll plant some of my own rhubarb now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I agree the butter to dry ingredient ratio was WAY off and I didn't read the reviews before baking (TSK, TSK) this recipe - very disappointing and a waste of good rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States