Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I just tried this recipe and the amount of butter needs to be increased. I used 1/2 cup with the oat mixture and it still came out very dry. I would say 1 cup should be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
First of all, I am NOT a baker, so I don't have any intuitive ideas about what would work/not work/be better, etc. When I was mixing the crumb part, however, I could clearly see that the amount of butter just didn't look right. I added a small amount more, mixed, then added a very small amount more. What I had when I finished was certainly not a "crisp". The flour/oat/sugar part was fine on the bottom (cuz of the moisture I suppose) but it was just flour, oats, and sugar on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Bergland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I made this recipe and was very disappointed. I think that the allrecipes staff needs to review it one more time. I'm not a huge cook, so I follow recipes as written. I knew there wasn't enough butter, but figured it was right. Obviously, I didn't read the reviews which was a mistake. Not real happy that I wasted the last of my rhubarb!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I made the recipe as written, and I didn't care for the texture. I expected a crumble and this was too floury. HOWEVER, the flavor was WONDERFUL!!! (it's the flavor that counts anyway, right??) I'm glad I tried it and will make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Pretty good....I used frozen rhubarb and drained excess water before preparing recipe. Like others I added a bit more butter. I liked the fact that there is oat mix in bottom of pan. Perfect consistency for a crisp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Oh, I wished that I had read all the reviews before wasting all my precious rhubarb -- I follow recipes just like they're written. I had way too much of the "crumbs" so I didn't use all of them, but it was so dry and masked the taste of the rhubarb -- all we could taste was the flour mixture and the oatmeal. I may try it again next year when the rhubarb is back in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This makes a huge batch. I was going to scale it down, but we had a lot of rhubarb so we used the original portions, but it definitely serves a lot! The butter amount, as mentioned before, is not correct. I used 2 sticks of butter, but I could have probably used a little bit more. Otherwise, it turned out really good! I would scale it down a bit and add more butter if I made it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I made this crisp wanting to use up rhubarb left from making jellies. Everyone LOVED it ,now I'm looking for more rhubarb to make another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I didn't have enough Rhubarb so I added some strawberries and blueberries as fillers. Everything else the same and it was delish, my kids are asking for me to make more. Today I'm making rhubarb rashberry and mango crisp. I'll let you know how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I agree the butter to dry ingredient ratio was WAY off and I didn't read the reviews before baking (TSK, TSK) this recipe - very disappointing and a waste of good rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States