Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I made this recipe and was very disappointed. I think that the allrecipes staff needs to review it one more time. I'm not a huge cook, so I follow recipes as written. I knew there wasn't enough butter, but figured it was right. Obviously, I didn't read the reviews which was a mistake. Not real happy that I wasted the last of my rhubarb!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I made the recipe as written, and I didn't care for the texture. I expected a crumble and this was too floury. HOWEVER, the flavor was WONDERFUL!!! (it's the flavor that counts anyway, right??) I'm glad I tried it and will make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Pretty good....I used frozen rhubarb and drained excess water before preparing recipe. Like others I added a bit more butter. I liked the fact that there is oat mix in bottom of pan. Perfect consistency for a crisp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Oh, I wished that I had read all the reviews before wasting all my precious rhubarb -- I follow recipes just like they're written. I had way too much of the "crumbs" so I didn't use all of them, but it was so dry and masked the taste of the rhubarb -- all we could taste was the flour mixture and the oatmeal. I may try it again next year when the rhubarb is back in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This makes a huge batch. I was going to scale it down, but we had a lot of rhubarb so we used the original portions, but it definitely serves a lot! The butter amount, as mentioned before, is not correct. I used 2 sticks of butter, but I could have probably used a little bit more. Otherwise, it turned out really good! I would scale it down a bit and add more butter if I made it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I made this crisp wanting to use up rhubarb left from making jellies. Everyone LOVED it ,now I'm looking for more rhubarb to make another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I didn't have enough Rhubarb so I added some strawberries and blueberries as fillers. Everything else the same and it was delish, my kids are asking for me to make more. Today I'm making rhubarb rashberry and mango crisp. I'll let you know how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I agree the butter to dry ingredient ratio was WAY off and I didn't read the reviews before baking (TSK, TSK) this recipe - very disappointing and a waste of good rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
My husband said this was the best rhubarb crisp that I have made. I used 1 cup of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Whole family loved it! Did increase the butter to Lille over 1/2 cup. Also had closer to 12 cups rhubarb. Maybe this made the difference. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States