Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
This is wonderful! The crust is yummy...I had plenty of it, and used some of it on top of an apple pie. I highly recommend trying it, especially for someone who's never eaten rhubarb before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2000
I don't know what went wrong or if there is an error in the ingredient listing but it turned out to appear to be "soup". I doubted the amount of butter it called for but didn't make any adjustments. It just kept boiling in the oven so we'll try it as an ice cream topping---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
When I took this crisp out of the oven it had pools of butter on top. I thought three cups seemed like a lot, but followed the recipe anyway. It has a good taste. I am going to try using three sticks next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2001
This recipe is very poor. I am sure the quantities of ingredients are not correct. I would not make again. A complete waste of time and money and good rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
I followed the recipe to the letter. The filling was watery and, therefore, the crust and topping was soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
We have contacted the submitter of this recipe, and there was a typo in the amount of butter. We have changed it to 1/3 cup. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
This was one of the best crisps I have ever made. Loved the crisp on the bottom as well as the top. My daughter and son in law came for a visit and there was none left. They absolutly loved it. Marilyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I don't know what I did wrong. The bottom was like glue and the top was like cooked flour. It looked to me like there was not enough butter compared to dry ingredients. It ended up in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
I read all your warnings before starting this recipe. I added about 1 1/2 cups of butter for the topping/crust- 1/3 is not enough! It tasted good but the center was runny and some of the rhubarb was still crunchy (baked for 30 min.) Next time I will add more cornstarch/flour to the center and bake it for a little longer (or cut the chunks of rhubarb finer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I read all the reviews first, but was still confused by the amount of butter. 1/3 cup is too little and the rhubarb was still crunchy after 35 minutes of baking. I would double the cooking time and add more butter for the topping. A little more cornstarch for the sauce wouldn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States