Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I think the flour should be reduced to 1/3 cup! Way too much topping/crust for this recipe. Cook the cornstarch mixture until it turns clear. If not cooked long enough, the acid from the rhubarb breaks it when it bakes. I also baked it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I thought the pie turned out just fine. But I have to say.. like some others who have used this recipe, I had to add a whole bunch of butter to even form a dough. I tripled the amount of butter the recipe suggests. It's still kinda crunchy but I don't think it's dry. This recipe is great. For the bakers who thought the rhubarb was too sour compared to the sweet crust... leave out a little sugar from the curst and for the rhubarb -> place all the chopped rhubarb in a microwavable bowl, pour a little water on the bottom of the bowl, microwave the rhubarb for 2-3 minutes on high in one minute intervals. The steam from the water should make the rhubarb a bit softer and not so sour after baking it in the oven. I also put a little more corn starch on the sugary mixture, it wasn't runny at all when I tasted the pie the following day. I cooked the pie for 45 minutes. Thank you for this easy recipe, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harlem, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Very good! I cut the recipe in half, but still used 1/2 cup of butter. Turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Kaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This was fantastic! I like cinnamon so I sprinkled more cinnamon over the rhubarb. Also, I found mine needed to cook for nearly an hour. Pull it out of the oven after you see it bubbling around the edges. I didn't have any problems with the crust and topping being to dry b/c the rhubarb cooked down enough! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Will not make this again. The bottom crust and topping were very dry. I had to doctor the top with a little more brown sugar and butter so as not so dry. Filling was nice with the syrup added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I thought it turned out fairly well! I would increase the butter to 3/4 to 1 cup in the crust/crisp portion instead of the 1/3 cup. I used 1/2 cup, and it was still a little dry, not crumbly. Also, I think the recipe has too MUCH crisp/crust. You could also leave the butter at 1/2 cup and cut the flour and brown sugar back to 2 cups each instead of 2 1/2 cups. Now for the RHUBARB portion, it was a bit sour in combination with the sweet of the crust. Also just a tad runny after I let it cool awhile (1 hr), so maybe increase the corn starch to 5 T (I used 4 T instead of 1/4 cup). And lastly, I increased the baking time to 40 to 45 minutes. :-) Be sure to place something on the rack below the baking pan as this recipe does seem to bubble over like a pie would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Way too doughy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
While the taste was good, the result was too soupy, and the topping too sugary. I've had much better. Needs more cornstarch or tapioca. Try a different recipe rather than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
Very disappointing! Waste of darn good rhubarb and ingredients. Ate one piece and tossed the rest as it was to nasty to serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I read all the reviews first, but was still confused by the amount of butter. 1/3 cup is too little and the rhubarb was still crunchy after 35 minutes of baking. I would double the cooking time and add more butter for the topping. A little more cornstarch for the sauce wouldn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States