Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Made this for our family yesterday with fresh rhubarb from my uncle's garden and it was a hit. We made a few adjustments though. We doubled the recipe and cooked it for a total of 55 minutes. We changed the topping as well by adding some sugar and some oats which gave it sweetness and variety. We also added three (keep in mind this was the doubled recipe and we probably should have only used two) eggs to the rhubarb mix for a slightly more custard-y taste. All in all, the recipe worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Whitmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Wretched topping. I hope I can salvage this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
The recipe does not have the right texture to be eaten alone. It would be better as a topping on ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I loved the flavor of this crisp except I would leave out the salt altogether from the topping next time.. also, it makes a square pan. In my 2 quart rectangle it was too flat. The rhubarb filling was the perfect balance between sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Super yum! Will definitely be making it again! Perfect hot out of the oven with some vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Christenson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Very tasty Crisp, had friends over but no dessert. Harvested some rhubarb put it together and wham one amazing dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karabith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
My husband and I loved it. i even had to substitute some of the brown sugar with maple syrup. Delicious hot or cold. the topping i mixed together and then balled up little pieces to pt on top. looked better? tasted awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I doubled the recipe and it came out VERY salty! I made it with a mixture of rhubarb and strawberries. That part was good. I double checked EVERYTHING. While I thought maybe I switched baking soda for baking powder, but found out that it was the right box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette
Home Town: Hawarden, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This was wonderful but I am convinced that it is because I let it bake about 50 minutes. I normally don't like rolled oats in a crisp recipe but the oats just thickened the rhubarb. I also made my own brown sugar with molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This is excellent as written. However , if you would like it thicker, just add more oats. Thanks for posting....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States