Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
Contrary to what others have said about this rhubarb crisp, I found it turned out wonderful. My husband loves it! If it is made with just a bit more top layer, it turns out much nicer. My husband made it and added more flour to the top layer. Turned out amazing. We've tried it with fresh and frozen rhubarb and both turned out wonderful. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I was skeptical since I've never made a crisp recipe that mixed the oats in with the fruit, but this was fantastic. I made it exactly as written, with the exception of being a bit more liberal with the cinnamon and my rhubarb was frozen not fresh. Everyone loved this, I'll be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Wonderful, making a 2nd batch. I added 1 full cup of oats. Made it just a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Sorry to say, but this was NOT GOOD at all. I will stick to a very old and great recipe for crisp sake.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Everyone loved this recipe! I made it with for my husband's family and several people had seconds. Very quick and easy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This recipe was great! Contrary to the few reviews below which didn't like it, I think if you put in the 1 teaspoon of the salt and baking soda there won't be a problem... It turned out quite nice on the first time. We put in 4 cups of rhubarb (as ours has done plants amazingly well this year) and then bumped everything up a little. I would probably up the amount of oats as one other person suggested to make it a little thicker. This was a great recipe that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslisashoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This turned out delicious! I changed some ingredient amounts after reading other reviews. I took out the white sugar & used 3 packets of artificial sweetener, I like oatmeal so I increased the oats to 1 cup, increased cinnamon to 1.5 tsp. For the topping I increased the flour to 1 cup and decreased the salt to 1/4 tsp. Also a little secret, I let the rhubarb soak in the sugar mixture for 15 minutes, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This is awesome!!! Especially with a bit of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
Horrible - I made this for my family - no one liked it. Not sure what the problem is too much baking soda - just bland tasting ... won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Bryan Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2000
Too salty - The flavor gets lost in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States