Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This is an awesome dessert and easy to make. I was a little worried since I didn't read the reviews until after the crisp was already baking, the topping is salty, like a pie crust, but when you scoop it out and eat everything together it is soooo good. Just made another one last night since it goes so fast. Yuuuummmmmm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I would definitely add a couple more cups of rhubarb. It was very sweet. And, I may alter the topping a bit so that it is crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Very salty, not your traditional 'crisp'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was a quick and easy dessert! I followed the recipie as written and had great results! Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I have to agree with many on here who think this crisp could use vast improvement. I thought I would list all of my changes out here, but I think it would be easier just to submit a whole new recipe. Some basics you should know if you plan to make this is that the oatmeal mixed into the fruit absorbs 90% of the moisture, the added flour is just overkill and will turn out like glue. Way too much sugar drowns out the tartness of the rhubarb which I really like. The topping has a WAY TOO HIGH flour to butter ratio to the point where it doesn't even brown and all you can taste is flour and baking soda. Not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romyo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is actually quite good. I really liked the oats mixed in with the rhubarb. I made one change... added 1/2 c flour to the topping as it was quite buttery. It took 40 min on convection bake...my rhubarb might not have been cut small enough. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I've made it twice following the recipe exactly except used frozed rhubarb. Turned out great both times. Served it with vanilla ice cream. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
We really like this!!The top is like a pie crust..so very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Am I the only one who noticed it calls for 1 tsp. ground cinnamon but doesn't tell you where it goes? Anyway...I didn't know where to add it so I sprinkled it into the flour/salt/soda/margarine mixture. I think this tasted pretty good, a little salty, but add a scoop of vanilla ice cream and you will not notice any saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I've now made this a few times, and it's pretty good. I halved the salt/baking soda, because it was too salty the first time. I also usually use a little more rhubard. Worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States