Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I like fruit filled crisps and cobblers. Although I nearly doubled the rhubarb but didn't increase flour & oats, this is very doughy - if you like dough stuck to your teeth and the roof of your mouth, this is for you. I'm still looking for a traditional recipe that takes advantage of the wonderful flavor & texture of rhubarb without being overwhelmed with too much sugar, flour and oats. I have been disappointed so far and wish I had my grandmother's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Since the ingredients seemed to be in order, then I put the brown sugar in with the topping ingredients. I always double cinnamon in any recipe. wish i would have read the reviews first and I would have omitted the salt altogether. Tasted great & I will probably make it again since I have a great supply of the best rhubarb around. Serves three. My husband, son & me. I could have maybe stretched it to six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
very, very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Komet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This was the first time I've ever cooked or eaten rhubarb, and I thought this recipe was delicious! Maybe a little less salt, but still very good. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I wish I had read the reviews before choosing this recipe - I wasted my rhubarb that was given to me on this recipe - WAY too sugary, it was runny, the topping was not like a crisp should be - we couldnt' even finish a small bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I thought the topping was disappointing. WAY too salty! However, the filling was tasy and it was super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
very tasty, but runny I think the 3/4 cup flour should be in the rhubarb mixture not the topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I was given fresh rhubarb from a coworker. This is the recipe I chose to make. Because I am a vegan, I used Earth Balance butter instead of butter. It was delicious, I doubled the recipe to share at work. They loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was more like a rhubarb cobbler then a crisp. Way too sweet (the recipe called for too much sugar!) and mushy, & I even cooked it longer then what was called for. Disappointed...since I wanted a really good "crisp"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States