Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I like fruit filled crisps and cobblers. Although I nearly doubled the rhubarb but didn't increase flour & oats, this is very doughy - if you like dough stuck to your teeth and the roof of your mouth, this is for you. I'm still looking for a traditional recipe that takes advantage of the wonderful flavor & texture of rhubarb without being overwhelmed with too much sugar, flour and oats. I have been disappointed so far and wish I had my grandmother's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Since the ingredients seemed to be in order, then I put the brown sugar in with the topping ingredients. I always double cinnamon in any recipe. wish i would have read the reviews first and I would have omitted the salt altogether. Tasted great & I will probably make it again since I have a great supply of the best rhubarb around. Serves three. My husband, son & me. I could have maybe stretched it to six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
very, very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Komet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This was the first time I've ever cooked or eaten rhubarb, and I thought this recipe was delicious! Maybe a little less salt, but still very good. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I wish I had read the reviews before choosing this recipe - I wasted my rhubarb that was given to me on this recipe - WAY too sugary, it was runny, the topping was not like a crisp should be - we couldnt' even finish a small bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I thought the topping was disappointing. WAY too salty! However, the filling was tasy and it was super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
very tasty, but runny I think the 3/4 cup flour should be in the rhubarb mixture not the topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I was given fresh rhubarb from a coworker. This is the recipe I chose to make. Because I am a vegan, I used Earth Balance butter instead of butter. It was delicious, I doubled the recipe to share at work. They loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was more like a rhubarb cobbler then a crisp. Way too sweet (the recipe called for too much sugar!) and mushy, & I even cooked it longer then what was called for. Disappointed...since I wanted a really good "crisp"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States