Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was ok. I prefer the crumb topping with the oats on top instead of in with the fruit...I probably wouldn't make it again and would go with my old standby recipe but it was fun change of pace for one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simpledinners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. A bowl full of sugar and a salt topping. I think there is something wrong with where the ingredients go. The brown sugar and cinnamon should go in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Crumb topping not necessary......was very disappointed with this recipe......will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I did not like this recipe. It calls for mixing the oats, flour, cinnamon, sugar and rhubarb then topping it with plain flour, margarine, soda and salt. This made a gooey mess with diluted flavor. Much better to pick a recipe that calls for sweetened rhubarb covered with sweet crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I don't know if it was that my rhubarb wasn't that sour or what, but this was way too sweet for my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I did not care for this recipe!!! recipe was completely wrong, and i cant believe i was that stupid to not notice when i was making it. Flour mush, to much sugar, not crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Mine wasn't very crispy, but my 6 year old loved it and had seconds even though she ran out of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I left the salt out and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is THE best rhubarb crisp, very easy, freezes well after baking, just "crisp" it up a bit before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I like fruit filled crisps and cobblers. Although I nearly doubled the rhubarb but didn't increase flour & oats, this is very doughy - if you like dough stuck to your teeth and the roof of your mouth, this is for you. I'm still looking for a traditional recipe that takes advantage of the wonderful flavor & texture of rhubarb without being overwhelmed with too much sugar, flour and oats. I have been disappointed so far and wish I had my grandmother's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States