Rhubarb Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is almost identical to my grandmother's recipe, but hers calls for 3 cups rhubarb, only 3 T. flour and two eggs. This might eliminate the spill-over encountered by another reviewer. It shouldn't be runny; be sure to cool completely before cutting. This is, in my opinion, the ONLY rhubarb pie to make, ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
What a wonderful pie! In fact, my fiance cannot have enough of it! ;)... The only thing negative about this pie (except the fact that it disappears too fast!) is that the "custard" almost always goes over the plate during cooking, even with a deep-dish one!! I think the trick to overcome this difficulty is to put the rhubarb in a conic shape, so there is more room for the custard. Once cooked, it is all "leveled". I also tried to put 2 eggs instead of 3, it worked fine, but you still have to do the conic shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I changed this recipe just a little and it turned out great. Instead of 4 cups of rhubarb, I used 2 cups rhubarb and 2 cups sliced strawberries. After 50 minutes the pie was nice and brown and looked done so I took it out of the oven and cooled for 1 hour and 20 minutes. When I cut into it, it was still liquid inside. I had no choice but to throw it back into the oven to try and salvage it. I baked it for 30 more minutes and much to my surprise it was still wonderful. Next time I will bake it for at least 60 minutes no matter how brown it looks. Also, this fit perfectly into a deep dish 9" pan, although it came right to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This pie is so good. I made it for my dad because he requested it, not knowing there really was such a thing as rhubarb cream pie. The hardest part of making the pie is the crust. The best part of the pie is the "cream". Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I used frozen rhubarb, so I pre-cooked the fruit, flour and all splenda in micro at High for about 9 minutes, stirring at 3 min. intervals. I added 2 TBLS cream to the eggs and stirred that into the filling. Microwaved on 70% power for a few min. and baked for about 45 min in oven. Lovely! and Yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeapLady
Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
My mother-in-law has been using this same recipe since she was in college! I just made it for the first time yesterday. I made two! It took under five minutes (once the rhubarb was chopped) and was a snap! My husband was thrilled, as this is his all-time favorite dessert. I'm intimidated by pies, so I put off getting the recipe. I will probably make this at least once a week all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANGBrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I just went to a family reunion-lots of farm wives with rhubarb recipes that are "just in their heads" They wont share. Now I've found one that will hold up to theirs. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hickman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
This is an old recipe -- I know my grandma used to make it. However, when I make it EVERY TIME it is RUNNY! So soupy you can't really even cut it but have to "scoop it out." It's still delish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
i love rhubarb! i also love custard. voila! this recipe was just what i was looking for. i prepared this with a shortbread cookie crust and it turned out perfect. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States