Rhubarb Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I made this for my husband last night and we both thought it was pretty good. The topping needs a little bit more sugar and it may be good with a bit of rolled oats. For those of you who don't like it so tart, but don't want to add more sugar, you can try a species of rhubarb called 'Strawberry' or 'Cherry.' Most people have what's called 'Victoria.' It's only red from the ground to about half-way up the stalk and is green for the rest. The strawberry version is a dark red from the ground to the leaf. The red version is much sweeter. It is still rhubarb so it's still tart but not nearly as much as the 'Victoria.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I doubled the recipe and used a 9 x 13 inch pan. Even though the recipe was doubled, I could have used more rhubarb. I used Splenda instead of sugar in the rhubarb itself. It was very good tasting, but next time would like to tweak it a little and use more rhubarb and not so much cornstarch because it did become too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This was fabulous! My kids thought they hated rhubarb because it grows in the garden -- they cleaned their plates. I topped it with ice cream while warm. One thing to note -- the recipe summary says this cooks in a 9x13, but the actual recipe says a 9" square pan. I used the 9" square and the ratios seemed perfect (topping to contents). The topping was very good, too! I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
The filling was great - I added some blueberries to the mixture too. I didn't care for the topping - it was more cakey for my liking. If I make it again I would down size the pan to an 8 x 8 so you would get more filling with each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Great recipe! I used an 8" pan, 2 cups of rhubarb and 2 cups of strawberries. very easy to make and was very tasty! I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This is a great summer dessert, especially served warm with vanilla ice cream. Even my rhubarb-hating husband liked it! Next time I might put a pinch (or two) more salt in the flour mixture. I recommend using Penzey's Ceylon Cinnamon in this recipe, that particular unique cinnamon really enhances the flavor of the rhubarb filling. It takes a good recipe for rhubarb to thrill me, and this one did it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
I made this in a ceramic pie plate that is a bit bigger than a deep dish pie plate and it was the perfect size. I made mine with frozen rhubarb so I omited the water when cooking the fruit. I pre-baked it before supper and then popped it back into the oven during supper so that it would be nice and hot for dessert. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon LePage

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
I would absolutely double this recipe if you're using a 13x9 pan. In fact, next time I will triple the fruit portion and double the topping portion. The whole family loved this...even the rhubarb haters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This is absolute ambrosia!! Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Great taste, but a little dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States