Rhubarb Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This pie was awesome!!! I made it in a 10 inch deep pie plate so I had to add another two cups of chopped rhubarb. Also, I didn't have tapioca in the house so I used flour 8 Tbsp. and it came out just fine. Everyone loved it, not too sweet nor too tart! This is definitely a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
When strawberries are not quite there but the rhubarb is abundant -try this ! I altered the recipe by using 3 cups of rhubarb, 1 T. tapioca, and 1 t. cornstarch . If you like it sweeter, use a full cup of sugar. I also made a crumb crust -- cut 1/4 cup butter into 1/4 c. sugar mixed with 1/2 c. flour, and stir in 1 yolk. A very easy and great way to use up that can of Cherry Pie filling !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I came across this recipe while looking for Strawberry Rhubarb and thought I'd try it. What a surprise. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Wow This is Awesome! The only thing I did differently was to add about another 1/2 cup of Rhubarb. I cant say enough. Thanks Annabelle for this treasured recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Decker, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Wonderful! Super quick. This pie was a nice change from Strawberry Rhubarb (I hate cooked strawberries). It was sweet and tart, very pretty. I cut out pie crust hearts and placed them over the top instead of a full crust. Very "valentiney". Make sure the pie is cool before you cut it and it doesn't run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I was hesitant because I'm not a fan of rhubarb. But it, along with cherry, are 2 of my Dad's favorites so I made it for him. It was really good! I used a deep dish so I increased the rhubarb to 3 cups and the sugar to 1 cup. Also, I used frozen since I couldn't find fresh and it worked fine. I also used light cherry pie filling. I think I could have used a bit more sugar, but it passed my Dad's taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
This pie was wonderful! I put a crumb crust on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I caught my 7 year old cutting into this pie for breakfast! When I teased him about it - he said it was really his 2nd piece. As he puts it "who knew rhubarb could be this good"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marlborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
This was an okay pie. My grandmother used a similar recipe, instead of the instant tapioca, she used the regular small pearl tapioca. I will try that next time and maybe dark sweet cherry pie filling. This pie was a little too tart for me. Thank you though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This is my all time favorite pie. I like almond extract with cherry so I added 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States