Rhubarb Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by btobey
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This pie was SO incredibly easy--just mix up the few ingredients--and it came out great! I really liked the cherries and rhubarb, a perfect combination of sweet and tart. I did add a bit more rhubarb as some other reviewers had suggested (about 3 cups total), and still, there was not a lot of filling, so I wouldn't recommend using a deep dish pie plate. I would also suggest serving this pie cold and/or letting it cool and serving the next day for the best texture. Overall, a wonderful, easy recipe--my husband said "delicious!" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by btobey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This was Delicious and will make it again and again! The only thing I would do next time is add more rhubarb...GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jolley900
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Could not have been easier to make and it turned out really good. I let mine sit for over 4 hours and the inside was still just a touch runny so i would say make this a day in advance and let it sit in the fridge overnight before cutting it. Will have to make another one as I have all the ingredients and my rhubarb plants are in full swing. Will try my make ahead suggestion and update my review with the results. UPDATE - changed from 4 to 5 stars. let sit overnight in fridge and it set up beautifully plus the flavors were even better he next day YUM. making another one this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I have been making this pie for about 15 years. I always add about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp almond extract. Also, intead of tapioca I make a base of cornstarch and water thickener with a little rhubarb that is chopped fine. I seem to get a little more flavor this way by cooking it down first and then adding the rest of the rhubarb and canned cherries....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Barrenger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Easy. Really yummy. Big hit with our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Simple. Set up perfectly while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Slightly disappointed; this tasted more like cherry than rhubarb :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
The perfect blend of sweet and tart. I used frozen rhubarb from our garden and a "lite" cherry pie filling. Pair this with "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust" recipe on AR for a truely outstanding pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was delicious. I hope we get enough rhubarb this year to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Excellent, simple recipe! I found everything to be well proportioned, maybe a little sweet. Rhubarb gives the cherry a more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States