Rhubarb Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by jolley900
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Could not have been easier to make and it turned out really good. I let mine sit for over 4 hours and the inside was still just a touch runny so i would say make this a day in advance and let it sit in the fridge overnight before cutting it. Will have to make another one as I have all the ingredients and my rhubarb plants are in full swing. Will try my make ahead suggestion and update my review with the results. UPDATE - changed from 4 to 5 stars. let sit overnight in fridge and it set up beautifully plus the flavors were even better he next day YUM. making another one this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I have been making this pie for about 15 years. I always add about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp almond extract. Also, intead of tapioca I make a base of cornstarch and water thickener with a little rhubarb that is chopped fine. I seem to get a little more flavor this way by cooking it down first and then adding the rest of the rhubarb and canned cherries....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Barrenger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Easy. Really yummy. Big hit with our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Simple. Set up perfectly while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Slightly disappointed; this tasted more like cherry than rhubarb :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
The perfect blend of sweet and tart. I used frozen rhubarb from our garden and a "lite" cherry pie filling. Pair this with "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust" recipe on AR for a truely outstanding pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was delicious. I hope we get enough rhubarb this year to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Excellent, simple recipe! I found everything to be well proportioned, maybe a little sweet. Rhubarb gives the cherry a more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This pie has amazing flavor! I added about 1/4 tsp of cloves, it enhances the flavors wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
A very tasty pie. I omit the tapioca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States