Rhubarb Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This pie was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I have made this recipe numerous times. I won grand prize with it at a Rhubarb Rhevival contest. Also donated one to a medical fundraiser auction. It brought $375!! People in my area know my pies & this one quickly became an all-time favorite. If your rhubarb is of the tarter variety, it won't be overwhelmed by the cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This recipe is a definite keeper! My boyfriend loves cherries and pie. We had some rhubarb lying around that I needed to use up. I made this recipe to the T and it came out perfect!! I could not imagine changing anything. Will be makin this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This was a great way to use our rhubarb. Being stingy with our rhubarb (having just brought some down south from Iowa and cleaning and cutting about 6 cups), I added a drained can of tart cherries to the cherry pie filling, which allowed me to still use only 2 cups of rhubarb. As did Betty Boop, used 8 tablespoons of flour in place of the tapioca, since we had none. Quite tasty and a change from our usual strawberry rhubarb or plain rhubarb pies. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This is the best rhubarb cherry pie I have ever had. Although I made some changes. I added 3 cups rhubarb and a Gala apple diced small. I added the extra rhubarb from other suggestions. The reason I added the apple was due to the fact I used a 10 inch pie plate and there wasn't enough filling to fill the pie. It is on my list of keepers. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Sooo good! Used 2.5 cups rhubarb and almost one cup of sugar, since my pie dish was deep and used the butter crust recipie from this site since didnt have shortening. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made this pie for Thanksgiving this year. I loved it, and so did my guests!!! I was lucky enough to have frozen some rhubarb this summer - homegrown rhubarb gave it the extra kick I like. This really was a wonderful pie, and I will definitely make it again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Great! I came across this recipe when trying to find out what to do with ingredients I had in freezer and I'm trying to clean it out right now. How perfect for me!I used 4 cups pre pitted frozen cherries and about 1 1/2 cups frozen rhubarb. I personally don't care for any pie so I have not tried this, however the pie eaters I do have are loving it. I did let it sit in front of a window for about 4 hours with a cool breeze coming in over it before serving. I asked my pie eaters if they liked it better the first or second, they answered "yes". I could see that it definitely has set up more within a days time. Will make again. Editing my review I did try some of this pie because I couldn't believe how much they said they liked it but didn't seem to be eating it all that quickly. Very sweet and I can only bet it's because of our tree that gives the sweetest cherries. If using fresh cherries may want to taste them and adjust sugar accordingly. As a sidenoted it's been requested by the pie eaters to have this available for the weekend. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by btobey
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This pie was SO incredibly easy--just mix up the few ingredients--and it came out great! I really liked the cherries and rhubarb, a perfect combination of sweet and tart. I did add a bit more rhubarb as some other reviewers had suggested (about 3 cups total), and still, there was not a lot of filling, so I wouldn't recommend using a deep dish pie plate. I would also suggest serving this pie cold and/or letting it cool and serving the next day for the best texture. Overall, a wonderful, easy recipe--my husband said "delicious!" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by btobey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This was Delicious and will make it again and again! The only thing I would do next time is add more rhubarb...GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States