Rhubarb Cherry Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I read all the reviews and then made a few changes to the original recipe. I used almost 8 cups of rhubarb instead of the 6 and after cooking until soft, I added a 20 ounce can of crushed pineapple along with the jello (which was sugarfree), and light cherry pie filling. I brought it all to a boil and then slow boiled for about 20 minutes, to thicken, stirring often. I water bath canned in sealed jars for about 15 minutes. I can really taste all three flavors in the jelly and it's not oversweet. Fantastic on toast, ice cream, and I'm sure will be great with ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
This is a good recipe. The cherry gelatin flavor is a bit overpowering. Next time I will use a 3oz package of cherry gelatin and a 3 oz package of unflavored gelatin instead of a 6 oz. pkg of cherry gelatin. I will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2000
This recipe is a great way to get rid of all of that rhubarb growing in your garden. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
My husband & I recently bought a small cafe in a rural town. We are serving this jelly and customers are beginning to request it! Thank you, Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I tried this recipe as is and then again with some small changes. We found the cherry version tasted a little too much like cherry jello. However, when we substituted wildberry pie filling and raspberry jello - it turned out fantastic. Killer when heated up and served over ice cream! Next time I'll try rhubarb strawberry pie filling and strawberry jello. Very good recipe with lots of possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
This was a nice jam. I also found it very strong with Cherry flavor! Also VERY sweet! Will cut back on sugar or add more rhubarb. Also will ruduce the cherry jello. This one has promise though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I made this jam during the summer, and my husband loved it so much that I made a second batch. I then made a third batch using strawberry pie filling and strawberry Jello. The result was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
This is a delicious recipe to use the large crop of rhubarb I usually have in my garden. It's great to pull out of the freezer on a cold winter morning to eat on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
I served this with ham...definately better than pineapple and my company loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This is an excellent recipe, of which I've also tried with pineapple. I have been using jello with jam recipes for years, strawberry being the best but this is a close second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States