Rhubarb Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I followed the directions exactly and I think next time I will double the rhubarb and skip the almond flavoring. It was way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This was very delicious, in fact, we liked the combination of cherries/rhubarb instead of strawberry/rhubarb. I didn't make any changes to it at all. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I love the taste of almond, but sometimes almond extract can make something taste too sweet to me. So I replaced it with 1/2 tsp vanilla extract; I also added a splash or two of fresh lemon juice, per reviewer Spongebob7's suggestion. Used slivered almonds in the topping and that was a good combo with the cherry pie filling. Broiled topping for about 2 minutes at the end to get it a little more golden and bubbly and try to crisp it up a bit more. Brought it to our neighborhood potluck and people who said they do not like rhubarb commented on really liking it as they gobbled it up! So thanks, Kel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Everyone loved this and had seconds! It was very tasty and not too sweet. I had hoped the topping would have been a little crisper though. I will replace the almond extract with a teaspoon of lemon juice next time for a fresher summer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
i made this for my rhubarb-loving husband for father's day, and it was a hit with 3 generations of family! the only change i made was out of necessity -- i didn't have any cornstarch, and used 6tbsp flour to replace the 3tbsp cornstarch. it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Excellent! I made this with frozen rhubarb, can't wait to try this with fresh, which will be coming soon. Hope other people try this as it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
From rhubarb lovers in our house, we all give this recipe 5 stars! We were surprised by the cherries, but totally delighted with another way to enjoy our rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
Very tasty recipe. I added only 3/4 cup sugar to the cherry pie filling and I still thought it was sweet. I have the strawberry rhubarb in my garden which is sweeter than regular rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I loved this recipe, I had to make a few changes, mostly out of need because I did not have on hand what it called for. I tend to cook with what is in my house rather then go get what I may be able to substitute. I used a bag of frozen dark red cherries and also was using frozen rhubarb. Since using frozen I omitted the water. I increased the cornstarch to compensate for the fact I was loosing the thickness of the pie filling. In the crust I increased the fine walnuts to 3/4 cup and also the butter to 1/2 + 2 Tablespoons. I am not sure if it was because of these changes but I did not have a problem with either the filling being to sweet or not having enough crust or the crust not being crisp enough. My family adored this and has said they wish me to make it again and the same way. Not to use the pie filling even if I were to have it. So just another possibility to a great base recipe. happy cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathrynTrue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Wow, was this good!! I followed the recipe exactly - no adjustments needed. Note that you can use old-fashioned oats or 'quick' oats. I used 'light' cherry pie filling the second time, and it cut down on the sweetness, which I liked. Definitely serve it warm, with vanilla ice cream! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States