Rhubarb Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Wow, was this good!! I followed the recipe exactly - no adjustments needed. Note that you can use old-fashioned oats or 'quick' oats. I used 'light' cherry pie filling the second time, and it cut down on the sweetness, which I liked. Definitely serve it warm, with vanilla ice cream! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
One word. YUMMY!!! I made this this summer for a BBQ dinner we had (yes I know, I'm a little late doing my review, sorry) I added a little extra almond extract to the pie filling, about 2 tsps. I also added 1 Tblsp of good vanilla. For the crust I used sliced toasted almonds. It had a great mild almond flavor and then the tang of the cherrys and rhubarb were great together! We served it with vanilla ice cream. Perfect for any casual or potluck style dinner. We had a guest that night who does not like desserts much, and he ended up having 2 helping, so that's saying something. Thank you for this recipe. It's been added to my list of faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I made this dessert for company and it was a big hit...Even if you're not crazy about rhubarb the cherry is a nice balance. Even my kids wanted this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
i made this for my rhubarb-loving husband for father's day, and it was a hit with 3 generations of family! the only change i made was out of necessity -- i didn't have any cornstarch, and used 6tbsp flour to replace the 3tbsp cornstarch. it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I'd never tried a cherry-rhubarb combination before and have made this several times as everyone loves it. I left out the nuts and used a squeeze of lemon juice in place of almond extract. To lighten the recipe slightly I have occasionally made it using half the crust mixture (sprinkled it on top, omitted the bottom layer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I followed the directions exactly and I think next time I will double the rhubarb and skip the almond flavoring. It was way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
This recipe is very simple and easy to follow. It tasted like i had made it a million times though. It calls for so few ingrediants which I also liked. I will make this again. Oh and I served it with chocolate vanilla check ice cream. The combination of vanilla chocolate cherry almond and rhubarb was a really wonderful mixture actually I will not eat it any other way :) Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
From rhubarb lovers in our house, we all give this recipe 5 stars! We were surprised by the cherries, but totally delighted with another way to enjoy our rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This was very delicious, in fact, we liked the combination of cherries/rhubarb instead of strawberry/rhubarb. I didn't make any changes to it at all. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Awesome!Did not change a thing. Made it two times in one week. Wonderful sweet tart combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States