Rhubarb Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I love the taste of almond, but sometimes almond extract can make something taste too sweet to me. So I replaced it with 1/2 tsp vanilla extract; I also added a splash or two of fresh lemon juice, per reviewer Spongebob7's suggestion. Used slivered almonds in the topping and that was a good combo with the cherry pie filling. Broiled topping for about 2 minutes at the end to get it a little more golden and bubbly and try to crisp it up a bit more. Brought it to our neighborhood potluck and people who said they do not like rhubarb commented on really liking it as they gobbled it up! So thanks, Kel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
WOW! AWESOME! If using sweeter rhubarb (called 'strawberry rhubarb'), cut down the sugar. I've made this twice - once w/real butter and once w/margarine. The real butter gives a far superior crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Excellent! I didn't have almond extract so I just used vanilla. My husband loved it and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This is the very best crisp that I have ever tasted. Being easy and quick to make was just an added bonus. Thank you for the recipe. It is really wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
My husband, who loves cherry and rhubarb, thought it was only mediocre. He didn't like the nuts in the topping. I took the rest to church the next morning and they ate it all up, though nobody raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Wonderful! A great desert to please a crowd. Everyone had a big helping with vanilla ice cream. My husband finished the remainder off with his cup of coffee in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This is the BEST CRISP RECIPE that I have ever tasted. I loved having a bottom crust as well as a tasty top crust with nuts. Rhubarb is an acquired taste but with this recipe where cherries are mixed in I think that even the "persnickiest eater" would enjoy this easy to make dessert. You could use this crumb crust for any fruit crisp. Great recipe Kel, thanks a lot for sharing it with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Holy Cow! This was awesome. I made this almost two weeks ago and I really want to make it again. I did make a few changes. I used fresh cherries (off a friend's cherry tree), and I used splenda instead of sugar. I used more splenda than the recipe called for but I think thats because I didn't use cherry pie filling. I also only used 3 cups of rhubarb because I thought 4 would be too much. I also used whole wheat flour instead of white flour and added some flaxseed to make it a little healthier. I tried this without ice cream and I thought it was amazing and then tried it with ice cream and I thought that it can't get much better than this. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I loved it! It was sweet and tart all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Wow, was this good!! I followed the recipe exactly - no adjustments needed. Note that you can use old-fashioned oats or 'quick' oats. I used 'light' cherry pie filling the second time, and it cut down on the sweetness, which I liked. Definitely serve it warm, with vanilla ice cream! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States