Rhubarb Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I loved this recipe, I had to make a few changes, mostly out of need because I did not have on hand what it called for. I tend to cook with what is in my house rather then go get what I may be able to substitute. I used a bag of frozen dark red cherries and also was using frozen rhubarb. Since using frozen I omitted the water. I increased the cornstarch to compensate for the fact I was loosing the thickness of the pie filling. In the crust I increased the fine walnuts to 3/4 cup and also the butter to 1/2 + 2 Tablespoons. I am not sure if it was because of these changes but I did not have a problem with either the filling being to sweet or not having enough crust or the crust not being crisp enough. My family adored this and has said they wish me to make it again and the same way. Not to use the pie filling even if I were to have it. So just another possibility to a great base recipe. happy cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathrynTrue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was easy to make and delicious. I made a variation using apples instead of the Rhubarb and added some cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I really liked the flavor of the almond extract. I wish the topping would have been a little more "crisp", but I didn't use any nuts in it due to allergies. I also used lite pie filling so it wasn't SO sweet. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly with the exception of not adding the nuts. It needed 10-15 minutes of added baking time, but just check it since different ovens vary. It was delicious and will make it again for sure! Serve it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I had been salivating for almost a week waiting for my rhubarb to get big enough to use and today when I saw that it was, I scanned the recipes for something unique to make. This was it!! My husband loves rhubarb crisp and this was a nice change from the usual. The cherries were a nice addition ... just the right mixture of tangy, sweet and tart. I used almond slivers though instead of walnuts. I enjoy making deserts but don't usually eat them ... I couldn't resist this though and a sample teaspoon ended up being a full serving... I loved it ... and so did he! Will definitely make again .. probably for pot luck dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Yummy! I followed the recipie to a T and it was good! I like a thicker crust so next time I think I will double the crust. 5 star yumm~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I make this every season..it's so delicious!..you won't regret making this one!..We serve ours with Philly Vanilla ice cream..enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Thought it was absolutely delicious. Loved the almond flavor. I think next time I'll cut down on the crumble as one layer would still be great. Will definitely make again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States