Rhubarb Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChattTraveler
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Perfect combination of sweet and tart, and simple recipe. I used fresh picked rhubarb, and local strawberries, then served it hot with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Looking for something I hand't tried before to use up the last of my rhubarb. The TANG is what I love about rhubard, so w/ that in mind and after reading the reviews, I left out the almond extract as I was afraid it would make the cherry layer too sweet. The only other change I made was to make extra topping as we like the crunch layer to be fairly thick. The combo of rhubard and cherries is wonderful. But next time I will simply use two cans of the pie filling and skip making a syrup w/ it and adding extra sugar, I think it just took too much of the tang out of this for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This is excellent. I used frozen cherries and rhubarb and used the cherry juice in lieu of the water. Thickened the juice mixture and folded in the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Delicious--I did not change a thing in this recipe and I didn't find it too sweet as others said. It was a nice change from the usual strawberry/rhubarb combo. This will be one of my go to recipes for fast easy and yummie! I will try another flavour pie filling next time-- maybe blueberry or peach. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Used arrowroot in place of cornstarch since I was out, light cherry pie filling, and 3/4 cup of sugar instead of a cup. Wasn't too sweet at all, was a very nice balance - would even go with the full cup of sugar called for. I made extra crust because I was worried there wouldn't be enough, but it would have been fine - if anything, I wouldn't have minded more filling. But this was simple, delicious and went over very well for a family dinner. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
this is my family's favorite dessert now. I usually double the filling and triple the crisp part. Thank you Kel, for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This was delicious! I used unsweetened cherries in water instead of sweetened cherry pie filling and it was delicious, just the right amount of sour/sweet ratio. Great warm with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
A bit too sweet for my taste, but good. Would reduce the sugar since the cherries are already sweet. We used fresh cherries and thought it was a good call.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
The combination of rhubarb and cherries is unusual but delicious. I substituted 1/2 a bag of frozen cherries for the pie filling since I didn't have pie filling on hand and it was perfect. I think the pie filling with it's sugar would have made it a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States