Rhubarb Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ChattTraveler
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Perfect combination of sweet and tart, and simple recipe. I used fresh picked rhubarb, and local strawberries, then served it hot with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Looking for something I hand't tried before to use up the last of my rhubarb. The TANG is what I love about rhubard, so w/ that in mind and after reading the reviews, I left out the almond extract as I was afraid it would make the cherry layer too sweet. The only other change I made was to make extra topping as we like the crunch layer to be fairly thick. The combo of rhubard and cherries is wonderful. But next time I will simply use two cans of the pie filling and skip making a syrup w/ it and adding extra sugar, I think it just took too much of the tang out of this for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This is excellent. I used frozen cherries and rhubarb and used the cherry juice in lieu of the water. Thickened the juice mixture and folded in the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Delicious--I did not change a thing in this recipe and I didn't find it too sweet as others said. It was a nice change from the usual strawberry/rhubarb combo. This will be one of my go to recipes for fast easy and yummie! I will try another flavour pie filling next time-- maybe blueberry or peach. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Used arrowroot in place of cornstarch since I was out, light cherry pie filling, and 3/4 cup of sugar instead of a cup. Wasn't too sweet at all, was a very nice balance - would even go with the full cup of sugar called for. I made extra crust because I was worried there wouldn't be enough, but it would have been fine - if anything, I wouldn't have minded more filling. But this was simple, delicious and went over very well for a family dinner. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
this is my family's favorite dessert now. I usually double the filling and triple the crisp part. Thank you Kel, for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This was delicious! I used unsweetened cherries in water instead of sweetened cherry pie filling and it was delicious, just the right amount of sour/sweet ratio. Great warm with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
A bit too sweet for my taste, but good. Would reduce the sugar since the cherries are already sweet. We used fresh cherries and thought it was a good call.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
The combination of rhubarb and cherries is unusual but delicious. I substituted 1/2 a bag of frozen cherries for the pie filling since I didn't have pie filling on hand and it was perfect. I think the pie filling with it's sugar would have made it a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States