Rhubarb Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
After reading the comments about it being too sweet, I cut back the 2 cups of sugar to 3/4 cup each and used 1-2 tbsp fresh lemon juice instead of the almond extract. It was just right - not too sweet with a hint of tartness. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Slade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great recipe!! I used double the amount of rhubarb & added 1/4 tsp of lemon juice. Then I baked the 40 min but broiled it an additional 4 min. It turned out great. Sets up really nice. Great sweet & sour mixture. Added whip cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Loved this recipe! I also use it for cherry and blueberry crunch. Everyone loves it. Thanks for sharing. Didn't change a thing,except when I made it with cherries I added a little bit of Almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Tooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
It was a great recipe. However I am not sure why did it need so much sugar. I used half amount of sugar and it tasted fantastic and a little bit healthier. I used half amount of sugar for both the cherry mix and the flour mix and I also used frozen cherries instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I was looking for a way to use up rhubarb and cherries I found at the bottom of my freezer, now that spring is here and a new crop should be coming soon. I followed the recipe (other than that I didn't measure the fruit-what I had was close) with the difference being I used frozen sweet cherries instead of the pie filling. The crisp was delicious. Not too sweet but sweet enough. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I only had frozen Bing (sweet) cherries, but the rhubarb made it taste like tart pie cherries! Since my frozen cherries and rhubarb created so much liquid when thawed, I only added 1/2 C. water to the cornstarch mixture and it came out perfectly. I doubled the topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I hate when people change the recipe, but my suggestion is to put the fruit on the bottom, sprinkle with 1/2 cup sugar and the almond extract then sprinkle a box of red (cherry or strawberry) gelatin, then put ALL the crumbs on top, and bake as usual--you get the gel without cooking the cornstarch, and more crunch on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I made a 2nd version of this using Blueberry pie filling & Lemon extract instead of the almond. They were equally good, but I wish I would have actually stirred the rhubarb into the pie filling mixture instead of layering as the recipe calls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Very good. I made it exactly as directed and it was a hit. I think next time I'll put all of the crust/topping on the top like I do with apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States