Rhubarb Cheesecake Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I just made my third pan of this in two weeks - and everyone loves it. My husband's coworkers rated this the best of all the rhubarb dishes I've made so far and my mother-in-law wanted more. Made exactly as written in an 11x7 pan (which I didn't realize I even had) and it came out perfect. I almost didn't bother with the sour cream layer, but glad I did it. It doesn't have to be a thick layer, just a little goes along way. Will definitely add this to my rhubarb favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This is so good. Even my friend who doesn't care for rhubarb wants more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I tried this recipe after my friend, Diana, suggested it to me. It is awesome. I did make a few alterations, though. I doubled the crust for a 13x9 in pan and added about 1/4 cup sugar instead of the 2 tsp- wasn't nearly sweet enough. I also used powdered sugar for the cream cheese layer and sour cream layer. Used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 vanilla yogurt, only bc I ran out of sour cream. Added vanilla to the cream cheese per Diana's instruction- gave it more depth. Also, because I doubled the crust, I baked it a little longer too. really good recipe- I suggest you try it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VLB1218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I thought this dish was amazing! I brought it out to my gardening group tonight consisting of about 25 people(as we had just harvested the rhubarb the weeek before) and EVERYONE loved it!!!! I doubled the crust as others had suggested but kept everything else the same. I've never been a fan of rhubarb in the past but I would definatly use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This recipe was wonderful!! Not too sweet, not too sour. Fresh for summer time. I did however use splenda instead of regular sugar and added about 1/3 cup more in with the rhubarb. My whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cait

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Delicious! Tasted them warm and could not stop the tasting. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akoski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
awesome!!!!! Loved them-perfect just the way they are - but in one of the next batches will add some candied ginger!!! Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Charleston Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
These bars were delicious! My family ate them right out of the oven. I'd suggest waiting for them to cool though- less burnt tongues and you can top with whipped cream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mightyruby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
The submitter describes this as “a nice rhubarb dessert with a buttery crust, a rhubarb layer, a baked cream cheese layer, and a sour cream layer.” Even though I appear to be the lone voice of dissent, I have to be honest and disagree. This was mushy, unattractive, and probably one of the most unappealing desserts I've ever made (which might explain why no photos have been submitted for this dessert). The crust is fairly tasteless, the cream cheese "layer" basically curdles into the rhubarb, and the sour cream "layer" is too thin to warrant being called a layer at all. Down the garbage disposal it went.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
awonderful easy rhubarb desert,great as written,and even better using strawberries and pineapple with the rhubarb ! I've made this several times since I firstread it and everyone has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States