Rhubarb Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
Our family really likes this recipe, but I always use 5 cups of rhubarb (4 cups isn't enough). Using either raspberry gelatin or strawberry tastes great. A very quick and easy dessert to prepare. To other rhubarb lovers; this is one recipe you must have in your recipe box. "Thanks Darlene for this wonderful recipe, it's a winner"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
This recipe may sound strange - it may sound like "a bit much" but trust me, it's delicious - a family favorite (that I had lost!)...even rhubarb haters will love it. And it's EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
I substituted sugar free jello and used Splenda sweetener. This was awesome!! Also good with a couple tablespoons of frozen light cool whip instead of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wind Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
This was very easy but I thought it was sickening sweet. Next time, I'll reduce the sugar. I also didn't care much for the cake mix powder that was left on the top, but that's a dump cake for 'ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
Oh, I hate to say it, but this was terrible! It was sickeningly sweet, and it never really turned into cake, more like rhubarb with a crust/crumble. I admit that I was rather skeptical when I layered all of the ingredients, thinking that it would not turn into a real cake - and indeed it didn't. There are such better things to do with rhubarb that don't involve turning into a chewy jammy substance-kind of like fruit leather around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
This recipe is FANTASTIC!! I did not have raspberry jello, so I used strawberry & it was so tasty. I imagine that one could use any of the various flavors of Jello. The ease of assembling this dessert is perfect for the busy lifestyle of today's woman. Thanks, Darlene-this recipe is a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I loved this cake. I make it all the time. I found the raspberry jello a little sharp so switched it to strawberry and it is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
This is another easy and quick recipe for summer!As others said, any red berry Jello works fine. Of course we have to have some vanilla ice cream with it!!! :o]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This recipe is now one of our favorites. I freeze my rhubarb and have been making this for over a year now... although I play around with the recipe.(I have made this with strawberries, leaving out the jello) A great recipe and easy enuf for a bachelor or student to make - you don't need a bowl or spoon! HAHA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I have made this a couple of times and people seem to love it. I don't like to change a recipe much but I did cut the sugar a bit and used sugar free jello. I was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Redenius Flahaut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States