Rhubarb Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
We absolutely enjoyed this dish--we added some cut up leftover pheasant the last ten minutes and topped it off with cut up cherry tomatoes as well, only had cheddar shredded.. YUMMY!! My husband and I had 3 helpings each. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I used 2 cups of frozen blueberries and 2 cups of rhubarb. Only 1/2 cup of sugar since the blueberries are sweeter. Cranberry jello instead of raspberry. Don't be afraid to mix things up. It's a great recipe. I used too much water (since my fruit was frozen) so I just baked it longer and i was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oopsadazy27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Awesome!!! Delicious just as written. I don't know why someone had dry cake mix sitting on the top. Mine did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was fabulous!!! Wouldn't change a thing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGBOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
For those who have never really cared for rhubarb like myself, this recipe will change your mind. We were served this at a relatives cottage with fresh rhubarb. I politely declined a piece and only had a bite of my husband's after all the raves about it. Ended up having my own piece and got the recipe as well. A bit of Summer indulgence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
excellent! split it into 2 cake pans, cut back on sugar as others suggested, the house smelled wonderful and every one loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I just pulled this out of the oven and is cooled enough to taste. YUM! I added a cup of strawberries, I was just a bit short on the rhubarb and used wild strawberry jello. Much better than I expected. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This tasted great but I was a little suprised at what I had at the end of process. It was REALLY more like a cobbler than a cake and I was kinda disappointed by the loose, dry cake mix sitting on the top. We also used strawberry jello. But again, it tasted great and was a great recipe for my fresh, spring rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This was great. The water makes it less rich and of course healthier. I love Rhubarb so I only used 1/4 cup of sugar.This was sweet enough and I had a little tang of the rhubarb. For me this was plenty of sugar with the jello. I did use strawberry jello. My rhubarb was frozen so I followed the directions and used just 1/2 cup of water. The only alteration I made was I did top it with 1 cup of chopped pecans (also like the old original recipe called for).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
My fiance and I love this recipe - used sugar free jello mix. The combination of sweet and sour from the rhubarb is great! I wouldn't call it a cake, but rather a bar, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States