Rhubarb Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Reduced sugar to 1/2 cup. Cake mix stayed powdery on top - will try mixing it slightly next time. Tastes great - very easy - kids like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is a five generation recipe in our family, but we call it Rhubarb Cobbler. Instead of melting the butter, we cut it into the cake mix (we use 1/2 of a cake mix) until crumbly, then just sprinkle it on top of gelatin layer. I also add only 1/4 c. of water or less, poured into one side of the dish, as we don't like it too runny. Either way...outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Too sweet and what's the point of making a rhubarb cake if you can't taste the rhubarb?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I have been making this cake for at least 10 years. It is always a favorite with family and friends. I just made it today and it is mostly gone already and it's only out of the oven 2 hrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is the same recipe my grandma Ida used for years......it was published in our church cookbook in 1990 and she had been making it for years prior to that. The only difference in her recipe was that she used white cake mix instead of yellow, which gives it even a lighter taste, but yellow cake mix works very well, also. Our family loves it. I substitued a different recipe one time and my family was upset......why would I change something they loved??:) Lesson learned.....a tried and true recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I was a bit skeptical as I was making this cake. Really? Nothing to stir or mix? Yes, it is really that easy and yes, it is that delicious. The whole pan was gone within 24 hours at my house! I used sugar free Jell-o, and this is going to sound strage, but all I had was strawberry kiwi... it was still AWESOME. My new summer favorite! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lweberg

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mazomanie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is a keeper! Everyone Loves this. I used 5 cups of Rhubarb for more of the flavor and gave the top layer light swirls before baking to moisten any dry mix showing. Be care to not go too deep, you don't want to disturb the Rhubarb when swirling. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was pretty good but I had an extremely hard time getting it out of the pan, next time I will definitely spray it with cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I used what i had on hand, so i replaced the yellow cake mix with white and used cran-rasp jello. i also cut the sugar in half and it was still super sweet. I will try it without the sugar next time. Great recipe! It is so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I have made this a couple of times and people seem to love it. I don't like to change a recipe much but I did cut the sugar a bit and used sugar free jello. I was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Redenius Flahaut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States