Rhubarb Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Renee Maass
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Like everyone else I should have read the reviews first. I made two loaves of the bread. I threw it in the yard for the squirrels and birds. What a disappointment. Like someone said probably needs baking powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Maass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
the recipe is missing 1 tsp of baking soda which turns this recipe from a 1 star to a 5 star. i also split it up into 3 small loaf pans and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Like others said, I wish I had paid more attention to the reviews before wasting my time and ingredients on this. Obviously missing something, like baking powder or baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Too much batter for one pan...turned out doughy. Tried making it a second time...added 1tsp baking soda to the recipe and used two 8x4 greased baking pans...turned out fine the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This bread never cooked in the middle. Over 80 minutes in the oven - I did add some baking soda but still didn't work, Sorry I wasted all that good rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I made cinnamon topped rhubarb muffins from this site that are very similar to this bread recipe, I think that if you added a teaspoon of baking soda (as you do in the muffin recipes) to it the bread would rise and not be so doughy. The muffins were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I wish I had read the reviews before spending my time and ingredients to make this bread. Doughy and lacking flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Recipe did NOT work out when I made it. This recipe would probably benefit from some baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
This recipe turned out so badly that we threw it out. It was heavy, doughy and truly inedible. I suspect that there should have been some ingredient such as baking soda/powder in it. I regret the waste of valuable ingredients and my time making such a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
I love to cook and I love rhubarb but this recipe is TERRIBLE. It took over 80 minutes to cook and it is more like a pudding with no taste. It is very very HEAVY and it is more like a bread pudding. My family would not eat it so I wasted all these great ingredients. Sorry but it needs baking soda or powder or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States