Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
Great recipe! I made the healthier version described by another reviewer and substituted half the oil for an equal amount of applesauce. I also substituted 1/4 cup whole wheat flour for 1/4 cup of the white flour. It turns out a loaf that is not too sweet but has a nice tart-sweet taste. I devoured one loaf in just a day by myself. Next time I will try all applesauce for the oil and more whole wheat flour for the white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This is a very good, flavorful and moist bread. I adjusted the recipe as follows with favorable results: 1) cut the recipe in half (to make one loaf), but still used 1 whole egg; 2) added about 25% more rhubarb and cut it up into blueberry-sized pieces; 3) used apple sauce instead of oil; 4) increased the cinnamon and added most of it to the batter; and, 5) added flour to the topping, a bit at a time, until it became crumbly enough to sprinkle on top of the bread with my fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This bread is so YUMMY!! I found it refreshingly different; perfect for Spring. I packaged the second loaf to send to my boyfriend's office, but he refused to take it! He enjoyed the bread so much, he would not share it. I added half of the cinnamon to the bread batter and the other half to the topping mixture and I thought that added just the right amount of spice to the bread batter. I will be making this again as Mother's Day gifts and as a "Welcome to the Neighborhood" gift for our new neighbors. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I will also be freezing rhubarb to make this later in the year, it was great! I increased the rhubarb to 2 c (next time I'll use 2.5) and used almonds instead of walnuts. I added about 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the batter and some oats to the topping mixture, it was the perfect touch. This bread held up well at room temperature for several days, retaining its moisture and never tasting stale. Next time I'll add grated lemon rind and maybe replace some of the oil with yoghurt, it was possibly a bit greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
This is one of my favorite recipes. My mom used to make it and its especially good chilled the next day. I tried it this way, with the topping added before baking, and it was good, but i like it a little better if it's added halfway through so it stays crunchy on top. excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I doubled the topping, skipped the walnuts and added an extra 1/2 cup of Rhubarb, was so amazing! This is going to my favorites folder:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Not the prettiest bread I ever made, but it sure does taste good! The topping sort of sinks into the bread making it look like it has little craters, or kind of a pebbly looking top. And it slices a little crumbly, althoughI barely waited until it was cooled, let alone chilled. I substituted a cup of buttermilk for the milk and lemon juice and kind of wish I would have left out the nuts as their presence was a little too prominent for me. So why the three stars and not higher? The baking time is WAY off, and frankly, with nearly 200 reviews, I'm surprised no one else has commented on this. Forty minutes? No way. I baked this in a Pyrex 8x4" loaf pan at 325 degrees, for about 55-60 minutes, which is fairly typical for most quick breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
This was great bread. I love rhubarb, and we have a plant in the backyard. I was bored this evening, so I decided to harvest it, and make this bread. It turned out really moist, and really tasty. I left the walnuts out as I don't really like them, and added a little extra rhubarb, and it was still really flavourful. I love the sourness of the rhubard with the sweetness of the bread. It's a good thing it makes 2 loaves because the 1st on is almost all gone! I think it would be great if some strawberries were added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
This is delicious. I've made it twice and it freezes well. My family loved it and that's not true of all rhubarb recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This is a deLICious sweet bread! The brown sugar batter (no white sugar), is GREAT with the tartness of the rhubarb. I used half canola oil & subbed the other half with homemade-today applesauce (just call me Martha), and used half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat pastry flour. Had to use pecans because wasn't sure my walnuts were fresh enough. This bread turned out GREAT. Thank you, Lori! You helped to use a fraction of the rhubarb from our garden and gave us an excuse to use more! It would be fun to try with other fruits too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States