Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This recipe is delish. I used applesauce in place of oil. In one I also added strawberries. Very good. Next time I make it I will add cinnamon to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I had never used rhubarb before and was just looking for a simple recipe. This one was very simple and tastes amazing!! I always worry that breads will come out too dry but this one is super moist and flavorful. The topping really adds alot of great flavor. I'll definitely use this recipe again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Made this last week to take to a women's retreat. I'm glad I took a slice before I set it out. I went back to see if there were any leftovers so I could have another slice......nope. I also left a loaf at home and when I got back there were 2 slices left. This was amazing bread. I followed the recipe except that I used 2 cups rhubarb and doubled the topping. Will probably make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Moist and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it is perfect as is. This made 1 large loaf AND 3 mini loaves--perfect for gift giving! I will double the topping next time so there is plenty for all the loaves. YUMMO!! Great recipe--A keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Very good and moist....great to give as a gift with some homemade jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
mmmm, really really tasty rhubarb bread. didn't have walnuts but used some pecans I had around. also sprinkled some cinnamon into the flour before mixing it. my favorite rhubarb bread so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I really liked this bread and it smelled so good baking.I went ahead and added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a little nutmeg to the batter after reading a few reviews that it was kind of bland.I also used two cups of rhubarb and omitted the nuts.I used applesauce for half the oil and since I didn't have lemon juice I just used white vinegar instead.I made four mini loaves which I baked about 35 minutes and they turned out very moist and flavorful.I especially loved the brown sugar topping and next time I may put a little in the middle too.This is a great bread to make for spring and I plan on buying more rhubarb just for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Really good! It did take 55 minutes baking time at 325 degrees. Moist and delicious a new spring favorite for my family, the two loaves were gone the same day I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I did substitute half applesauce for half the oil with good results. Also used 1 c whole wheat flour instead of white. I found the bread needed to bake about 55 minutes instead of 40, and found out after that the pans should have been greased and floured instead of just greased. But great texture and taste! I love the tang of the rhubarb with the sweetness of the bread. Oh, and I just sprinkled cinnamon and "raw sugar" on the top of the bread instead of brown sugar, cinnamon, and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
My husband just left the house saying, " I almost died this morning because I ate some of that rhubarb bread for breakfast. SO GOOD!" I always end up baking this for closer to an hour at 350F, but our oven is finicky. I also add ground cloves to the crumble, as well as some whole cloves as a garnish, and does the house ever smell amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theBruders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States