Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Just made this today. So good. Can't wait for my husband to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I am not a huge rhubarb fan. I was given some for my husband who is a huge fan. I could eat this bread ALL DAY LONG. It is so good. I am going to make it many more times. I made as is and it was fantastic. I cooked it about 5 minutes longer than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was fantastic! I substitued lime juice for the lemon juice and used 2c of rhubarb becuase I had no nuts on hand. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
We used 2 cups of rhubarb and added 1 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the batter (at the suggestion of some previous reviewers). I baked both loaves in dark pans, and 40 minutes was perfect. I did use parchment paper (again at previous reviewers suggestion). I did use the topping but may try it once without it as it seemed good enough with the extra cinnamon in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is really good bread and was easy to make. I followed the recipe with one exception; I didn't add any nuts. It turned out great. I lined the bottoms of my pans with parchment and the loaves came out easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as printed, and it was really good! The second time I made it, I added more cinnamon and some nutmeg. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was delicious!! I never use oil in my baking anymore. I replaced the 2/3 cup oil with 2/3 cup unsweetened applesauce and used 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour and it turned out GREAT!! I also didn't add the nuts because my kids don't like them. My kids love this bread and I will be freezing rhubarb to make it this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
5 for flavor...4 for final product. As is typical for me, I couldn't get the bread out of the pan. LINE with PARCHMENT in the future!! (And there will be a future.) I subbed melted butter and coconut oil for the vegetable oil and used vinegar instead of the lemon juice as it was what I had on hand. Other than that I followed directions and the taste and texture were fabulous. It also took about an hour for the loaves to be done. Next time I might try making into muffins instead -- shorter cooking time, and I don't have to worry about sticking. Liners. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Actually I found the bread very moist and delicious.. I followed recipe mostly but used 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and sprinkled some nutmeg in the batter, used 2 cups rhubarb, did not use nuts - it made 4 little loaves however I did cook them at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes then loosely covered it with foil and decreased temp to 325 degrees for another 20 minutes. One of the loaves I sprinkled cinnamon sugar on as I ran out of the other topping...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I skip the nuts and the topping, guess I'm kind of a purist. For an even MORE awesome treat, try toasting a couple slices. Use the broiler, watch it closely and flip after it's nice and brown (the toaster gets way too messy). It carmelizes and is oh soooo irresistable!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States