Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
We used 2 cups of rhubarb and added 1 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the batter (at the suggestion of some previous reviewers). I baked both loaves in dark pans, and 40 minutes was perfect. I did use parchment paper (again at previous reviewers suggestion). I did use the topping but may try it once without it as it seemed good enough with the extra cinnamon in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is really good bread and was easy to make. I followed the recipe with one exception; I didn't add any nuts. It turned out great. I lined the bottoms of my pans with parchment and the loaves came out easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as printed, and it was really good! The second time I made it, I added more cinnamon and some nutmeg. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was delicious!! I never use oil in my baking anymore. I replaced the 2/3 cup oil with 2/3 cup unsweetened applesauce and used 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour and it turned out GREAT!! I also didn't add the nuts because my kids don't like them. My kids love this bread and I will be freezing rhubarb to make it this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
5 for flavor...4 for final product. As is typical for me, I couldn't get the bread out of the pan. LINE with PARCHMENT in the future!! (And there will be a future.) I subbed melted butter and coconut oil for the vegetable oil and used vinegar instead of the lemon juice as it was what I had on hand. Other than that I followed directions and the taste and texture were fabulous. It also took about an hour for the loaves to be done. Next time I might try making into muffins instead -- shorter cooking time, and I don't have to worry about sticking. Liners. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Actually I found the bread very moist and delicious.. I followed recipe mostly but used 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and sprinkled some nutmeg in the batter, used 2 cups rhubarb, did not use nuts - it made 4 little loaves however I did cook them at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes then loosely covered it with foil and decreased temp to 325 degrees for another 20 minutes. One of the loaves I sprinkled cinnamon sugar on as I ran out of the other topping...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I skip the nuts and the topping, guess I'm kind of a purist. For an even MORE awesome treat, try toasting a couple slices. Use the broiler, watch it closely and flip after it's nice and brown (the toaster gets way too messy). It carmelizes and is oh soooo irresistable!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Not the prettiest bread I ever made, but it sure does taste good! The topping sort of sinks into the bread making it look like it has little craters, or kind of a pebbly looking top. And it slices a little crumbly, althoughI barely waited until it was cooled, let alone chilled. I substituted a cup of buttermilk for the milk and lemon juice and kind of wish I would have left out the nuts as their presence was a little too prominent for me. So why the three stars and not higher? The baking time is WAY off, and frankly, with nearly 200 reviews, I'm surprised no one else has commented on this. Forty minutes? No way. I baked this in a Pyrex 8x4" loaf pan at 325 degrees, for about 55-60 minutes, which is fairly typical for most quick breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was the BEST rhubarb bread, if not the best bread I have ever had. Moist, flavorful, and the perfect amount of sweetness! This recipe is absolutely delicious the way it is. My whole family loved it and wanted the recipe, great way to use up your rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Followed advice of others and used half applesauce. I had to bake longer then stated but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States