Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Loved it! I used whole wheat flour, applesauce for the oil, and subbed in 1/2C oats for flour. I also had a handful of chopped strawberries I put in for fun. Could have used less sugar with those in it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Mine was finally done around the 70-minute mark. Also, the bread itself was flavorless if you didn't get any rhubarb or (sunken) topping in a bite. Adding some cinnamon to the batter would greatly improve this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
It was yummy. I added equal parts of orange juice, applesauce and oil. I used part whole wheat flour. I also added pecans, raspberries, orange zest and cinnamon to the batter. I sprinkled the loaves with a little cinnamon and sugar after putting the topping on before baking. My friend said her husband does not like rhubarb but he ate some and really liked it and traded me some fresh salmon for a loaf of it. I have friends asking for the recipe saying it was very flavorful and moist. Tweak it to your liking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
If you really like rhubarb try substituting half the oil for a 1/2 cup of cooked rhubarb sauce sweetened with Stevia. I also found whole flaxseeds a substitute to the high sugar topping that's in the recipe - I cover the whole top with them before baking - adds a wonderful crunch! Putting the cinnamon in the batter along with a combination of whole wheat pastry and all-purpose flour is the way to go too. Moist and tart - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Tastes awesome! Very moist my family ate a loaf in a day! Cooking time should be adjusted to an 1hr10mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This is a great rhubarb bread recipe. I made this several times throughout the summer. I started adding a little bit of orange zest to a few recent attempts & that was also a wonderful addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Yuk! What did I do wrong? ! My rhubarb bread is AWFUL! The rhubarb is still really tart, the cake/bread itself isn't anywhere near sweet enough and the whole thing barely rose at all - the finished loaf is only 1 inch high! I bake a lot and my cakes are usually successful but this is the worst cake I have ever made. What a waste of lovely fresh rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I used whole wheat pastry flour in my half recipe. I used 1 tsp cinnamon and more in the topping. I had a half peach to chop up and add. Baked about 40 minute in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Love it & really easy. I make it with my 2 & 5 yr olds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Yum. The brown sugar crystallizes into a wonderful sweetness that accompanies the tartness of the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States