Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is a very good bread. I used buttermilk instead of milk and lemon juice and pecans instead of walnuts. I did not add the topping, and I always use more vanilla than called for. This is a keeper one for us. It stays nice and moist if it hangs around long enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is delicious! Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I love how this bread turns out, but it always takes longer to bake than 40 minutes. I've made twice now and both times I've turned the oven up to 350 after 40 minutes and it still takes a good 15-20 after that. Maybe it's my oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Yummy! I've just finished eating the first warm-from-the-oven loaflet, and it's delicious! I made 8 loaflets and a regular-sized loaf. Like other posters I subbed half applesauce for the oil, one cup of whole-wheat flour and added some spices to the batter. I added oats to the streusel topping, and left out the nuts because I didn't have any. I also used two cups of rhubarb (I was trying to get rid of my garden surplus--no luck, it was still only 3 stalks!). Great to have another recipe to add to my rhubarb repertoire! I'll add some chopped ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smita
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Made some changes: - Substituted whole wheat for all-purpose flour. Big improvement in texture. - 1.5 cups brown sugar is overkill. Scant 1 cup is good. - In previous versions, I've also chucked in strawberries, when I worried that the bread will be too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
My husband says he dislikes rhubarb but he loved this bread! Said it was the only way he's ever had rhubard that has been enjoyable! I loved the brown sugar in this. It was very easy to whip up, too. I loved the cinnamon topping and it was very easy to make- don't skip it. I used half applesauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This recipe is very good. It tastes more like a dessert than a "bread". Serve it with some whipped cream or vanilla ice cream for a great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissRebeccaEmily
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Excellent! Baked it in a 10x6 pan for an hour and twenty minutes and it was perfectly moist and scrumptious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissRebeccaEmily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Very easy to make and the taste is wonderful! I too made 1 loaf and 24 muffins. Used pecans instead of walnuts. Rave reviews from everyone who ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
All I can say is totally delicious, made two loaves today, and one is almost gone. The only thing I changed, was left out the nuts, but other than that found it to be very very good. Will most definitly be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States