Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Great recipe! I followed the advice of others and used half applesauce/half oil, as well as half whole wheat/half AP flour. I made them into muffins (easier to share at work) and they turned out beautifully! I skipped the nuts this time (not everyone loves them, oddly) but will for sure add next time! Standard-size muffin took about 25 min. Added struesel about 18 minutes into cooking time and it worked well. Also added about 1 T cinnamon to batter to give extra flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This stuff is terrific. I've made it as written, and also with 1/2 the oil subbed out with rhubarb mush (the leftover strained solids from making rhubarb syrup. I have WAY too much rhubarb to deal with!). This 2 loaf recipe yielded me 4 mini loaves (5ishx3ishx2ish) that were finished in about 27 minutes. I agree that the bread itself needs a little "something" for extra flavor. Applesauce, rhubarbsauce, nutmeg, cinnamon. Whatever you add,you really can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSBHAVENS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is really good bread and a great way to use rhubarb. I used 1.5 cups (2 stalks) of rhubarb and next time i will use about 1 cup more! This is a great recipe that folks will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I followed others' suggestions, substituting half applesauce for the oil and half wheat flour for all-purpose white. I used about 2.5 cups of rhubarb and 1/2 a cup of walnuts, which turned out to be just right. I added extra vanilla and next time will add cinnamon to the batter. I added flour to the streusel topping and used cold butter, cutting the mixture with a pastry cutter. It took exactly one hour to bake. I took one loaf into the office and it was quickly devoured. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! I changed a couple of things just for "healthier reasons" If you substitute 1/2 cup flour for 1/2 cup oats soaked in 3/4 cup boiling water you don't sacrafice moisture at all and it adds texture. I also used 1/3 cup apple sauce in place of 1/3 cup oil and cut brown sugar to 1 cup. I shared this with friends over for Sunday afternoon supper and they loved it. You can serve it warm out of the oven with a little whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Loved this bread, but the next time will add 1/4 cup of white sugar to balance out the tartness a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I have to admit, I was not optimistic about this bread because I'm not a fan of rhubarb, but I wanted to find a good recipe that my father would like. I was very happily surprised when this bread was done. The smell was so heavenly that I had to taste it and YUMMM!! I left the nuts out, but next time will try pecans or walnuts. This is definitely going in my family recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This is definitely a keeper. I made a few alterations, but it's mostly original. Just split the flour half/half white and wheat flour. And, split the oil, 1/3 cup oil and 1/3 cut unsweet. applesauce. I added and extra 1 tsp. vanilla and cinammon to the batter. Also, put in 1/2 cup more rhubarb (love it). Great recipe, just mix some powder sugar and lemon juice, and drizzle over loaves. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is a very good bread. I used buttermilk instead of milk and lemon juice and pecans instead of walnuts. I did not add the topping, and I always use more vanilla than called for. This is a keeper one for us. It stays nice and moist if it hangs around long enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is delicious! Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States