Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This recipe was very good! I make some changes after reading through the reviews. I used 2.5 cups of rhubarb, an extra 1/2 c. of flour, added cinnamon to the batter, and doubled the vanilla. To save some calories, I used egg substitute, skim milk, light butter, and half apple sauce and half oil. It turned out great with all of these changes. I have already made four loaves and plan to keep this recipe handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
My daughter ate the whole loaf by herself! Instead of mixing a streusel topping, I just sprinkle some brown sugar and cinnamon on top. It took an hour 15 min to bake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Great recipe! I followed the advice of others and used half applesauce/half oil, as well as half whole wheat/half AP flour. I made them into muffins (easier to share at work) and they turned out beautifully! I skipped the nuts this time (not everyone loves them, oddly) but will for sure add next time! Standard-size muffin took about 25 min. Added struesel about 18 minutes into cooking time and it worked well. Also added about 1 T cinnamon to batter to give extra flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This stuff is terrific. I've made it as written, and also with 1/2 the oil subbed out with rhubarb mush (the leftover strained solids from making rhubarb syrup. I have WAY too much rhubarb to deal with!). This 2 loaf recipe yielded me 4 mini loaves (5ishx3ishx2ish) that were finished in about 27 minutes. I agree that the bread itself needs a little "something" for extra flavor. Applesauce, rhubarbsauce, nutmeg, cinnamon. Whatever you add,you really can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSBHAVENS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is really good bread and a great way to use rhubarb. I used 1.5 cups (2 stalks) of rhubarb and next time i will use about 1 cup more! This is a great recipe that folks will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I followed others' suggestions, substituting half applesauce for the oil and half wheat flour for all-purpose white. I used about 2.5 cups of rhubarb and 1/2 a cup of walnuts, which turned out to be just right. I added extra vanilla and next time will add cinnamon to the batter. I added flour to the streusel topping and used cold butter, cutting the mixture with a pastry cutter. It took exactly one hour to bake. I took one loaf into the office and it was quickly devoured. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! I changed a couple of things just for "healthier reasons" If you substitute 1/2 cup flour for 1/2 cup oats soaked in 3/4 cup boiling water you don't sacrafice moisture at all and it adds texture. I also used 1/3 cup apple sauce in place of 1/3 cup oil and cut brown sugar to 1 cup. I shared this with friends over for Sunday afternoon supper and they loved it. You can serve it warm out of the oven with a little whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Loved this bread, but the next time will add 1/4 cup of white sugar to balance out the tartness a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I have to admit, I was not optimistic about this bread because I'm not a fan of rhubarb, but I wanted to find a good recipe that my father would like. I was very happily surprised when this bread was done. The smell was so heavenly that I had to taste it and YUMMM!! I left the nuts out, but next time will try pecans or walnuts. This is definitely going in my family recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This is definitely a keeper. I made a few alterations, but it's mostly original. Just split the flour half/half white and wheat flour. And, split the oil, 1/3 cup oil and 1/3 cut unsweet. applesauce. I added and extra 1 tsp. vanilla and cinammon to the batter. Also, put in 1/2 cup more rhubarb (love it). Great recipe, just mix some powder sugar and lemon juice, and drizzle over loaves. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States