Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Outstanding!! I make breads all the time and out of all sorts of fruits and vegetables. This recipe now ranks in my top five quick breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This is one of the best rhubard bread I have ever had. I made a few changes, I used a total of 3 cups packed dark brown sugar, used apple sauce for the oil, added 1 additional egg, and used buttermilk instead of the milk and lemon juice. I also put a slice of cream cheese when putting the batter into the pan. Was a very nice change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This recipe is good. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I felt the bread was a little bland. If you didn't put the brown sugar/cinnamon/butter topping on the bread it wouldn't have much of a taste to it. So next time I make these I will either double the brown sugar mixture that goes on the top, or I will add cinnamon to the bread batter as someone else suggested. Also, I didn't have walnuts on hand (plus I don't like them), so I used pecans instead. I will use this recipe again as I have lots of rhubarb this time of year and am alway's looking for new ways to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
We love this recipe. It makes a nice morning snack. I substituted half the flour with whole wheat flour and cut the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
very moist and delicious! i substituted applesauce for the oil and didnt add walnuts. the topping was good, but was wet so i couldnt "sprinkle" it onto the loaves. so when it cooked, it just kinda sunk into the bread and made indentions. good taste, not good appearance. made the recipe again and added more flour to the topping until it was crumbly and it turned out better. but then, this recipe is good even without it! oh, and i double the cinnamon and it wasnt strong at all or real noticeable for that matter. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I've made this many, many times and always get rave responses. My husband thinks it's the best thing I make and I bake a lot! I substitute raspberries for rhubarb frequently and it comes out great. To keep the raspberries from sinking, just dry them well and toss gently in flour before stirring into the dough. I also use pecans with the raspberries and they combine to make a nice flavor. I'm sure this recipe could hold other fruits if you wanted to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Very nice bread with a nice flavor and is moist. Made a few changes only because I find it hard to follow a recipe without changing something...Added 1 cup chopped strawberrie just for another layer of flavor. Substituted: 1 cup whole wheat for white flour, 1/3 cup applesauce for 1/3 cup oil. Before baking topped with 2 Tbs. finely chopped walnuts and 1 tsp. Turbinado sugar which made a simple, slightly crunchy, not overly sweet topping. Tested for donenss with toothpick, as it took longer than 40 min probably because of the strawberries. Thanks very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Great recipe and very unique flavors, sometimes it comes out very moist in the middle and not sure why. Still tastes wonderful. I substituted half the flour for whole wheat, half the oil for applesauce. Had to cook longer but have made 3 times already this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quiggy
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I have made this twice this spring and we love it. I add more than twice the amount of rhubarb and almonds instead of walnuts. Definitely take much longer to bake so be patient. Since there is only 2 of us now I half the recipe and make one loaf. Works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is really good. I used 1 1/2 c. wheat flour & 1 c. reg. flour. I always use dark brown sugar. I also substituted 1/3 applesauce & 1/3 c. oil. These loaves were not very high so I made it again using smaller loaf pans & they came out beautiful. I sprinkled brown sugar & cinnamon on the top(no butter) about halfway through the baking time. I baked them about 50 min. using the smaller pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States