Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is really good. I used 1 1/2 c. wheat flour & 1 c. reg. flour. I always use dark brown sugar. I also substituted 1/3 applesauce & 1/3 c. oil. These loaves were not very high so I made it again using smaller loaf pans & they came out beautiful. I sprinkled brown sugar & cinnamon on the top(no butter) about halfway through the baking time. I baked them about 50 min. using the smaller pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Very, very good. It's not the prettiest looking bread but it's delicious, especially the next day. For gift giving, I might try adding the topping later into the baking so it looks better as other reviewers suggested. I am also going to try this substituting the apple for rhubarb. I am always disappointed when I run out of rhubarb and can't make any more of this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was a hit for Father's day and a wonderful use for the always plentiful Rhubarb in my garden. I did wait half way through cooking time to put the topping on and kept the nuts out of the bread to mix with the topping. Everyone raved about the wonderful crunchy topping! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I have made this bread a couple of times its so yummy!! I made it without the topping to cut some fat but yesterday I made it with the toppng for fun and the whole house smelled wonderful!! I substituted applesauce for oil and whole wheat flour for white. That way I don't feel as guilty when I eat the whole loaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I added 2 tsp. hot cross bun spice to make the loaf itself a bit tastier. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
LOVE this bread! What a great way to use up rhubarb. I make up and freeze as many loaves as I can in the spring. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was delicious! Although, it took an hour to bake in my oven. I thought the brown sugar topping was going to be like a streusel, but it just sort of absorbed into the bread. Still very good though! I had chopped up 4 large rhubarb stalks. This was way too much, 2 would have been plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Followed this recipe to the letter and it came out perfect!!! Absolutely delicious...best bread ever.Will be making this a lot!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Oh my, oh my. I made this once last week, this week I doubled the recipe and put 2 in the freezer for next week. The best rhubarb dish EVER. I'm going to chop and freeze part of my crop for next winter. Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I like the fact that this makes 2 loaves. I had to use frozen rhubarb and did not thaw it. The topping was a little gloppy so difficult to spread evenly but tasted good. This took a little more than an hour to bake through properly so test carefully. Overall an enjoyable springtime dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 121-130 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States