Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Very nice bread with a nice flavor and is moist. Made a few changes only because I find it hard to follow a recipe without changing something...Added 1 cup chopped strawberrie just for another layer of flavor. Substituted: 1 cup whole wheat for white flour, 1/3 cup applesauce for 1/3 cup oil. Before baking topped with 2 Tbs. finely chopped walnuts and 1 tsp. Turbinado sugar which made a simple, slightly crunchy, not overly sweet topping. Tested for donenss with toothpick, as it took longer than 40 min probably because of the strawberries. Thanks very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Great recipe and very unique flavors, sometimes it comes out very moist in the middle and not sure why. Still tastes wonderful. I substituted half the flour for whole wheat, half the oil for applesauce. Had to cook longer but have made 3 times already this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quiggy
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I have made this twice this spring and we love it. I add more than twice the amount of rhubarb and almonds instead of walnuts. Definitely take much longer to bake so be patient. Since there is only 2 of us now I half the recipe and make one loaf. Works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is really good. I used 1 1/2 c. wheat flour & 1 c. reg. flour. I always use dark brown sugar. I also substituted 1/3 applesauce & 1/3 c. oil. These loaves were not very high so I made it again using smaller loaf pans & they came out beautiful. I sprinkled brown sugar & cinnamon on the top(no butter) about halfway through the baking time. I baked them about 50 min. using the smaller pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Very, very good. It's not the prettiest looking bread but it's delicious, especially the next day. For gift giving, I might try adding the topping later into the baking so it looks better as other reviewers suggested. I am also going to try this substituting the apple for rhubarb. I am always disappointed when I run out of rhubarb and can't make any more of this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was a hit for Father's day and a wonderful use for the always plentiful Rhubarb in my garden. I did wait half way through cooking time to put the topping on and kept the nuts out of the bread to mix with the topping. Everyone raved about the wonderful crunchy topping! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I have made this bread a couple of times its so yummy!! I made it without the topping to cut some fat but yesterday I made it with the toppng for fun and the whole house smelled wonderful!! I substituted applesauce for oil and whole wheat flour for white. That way I don't feel as guilty when I eat the whole loaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I added 2 tsp. hot cross bun spice to make the loaf itself a bit tastier. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
LOVE this bread! What a great way to use up rhubarb. I make up and freeze as many loaves as I can in the spring. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was delicious! Although, it took an hour to bake in my oven. I thought the brown sugar topping was going to be like a streusel, but it just sort of absorbed into the bread. Still very good though! I had chopped up 4 large rhubarb stalks. This was way too much, 2 would have been plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 121-130 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States