Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is really good bread and a great way to use rhubarb. I used 1.5 cups (2 stalks) of rhubarb and next time i will use about 1 cup more! This is a great recipe that folks will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I followed others' suggestions, substituting half applesauce for the oil and half wheat flour for all-purpose white. I used about 2.5 cups of rhubarb and 1/2 a cup of walnuts, which turned out to be just right. I added extra vanilla and next time will add cinnamon to the batter. I added flour to the streusel topping and used cold butter, cutting the mixture with a pastry cutter. It took exactly one hour to bake. I took one loaf into the office and it was quickly devoured. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! I changed a couple of things just for "healthier reasons" If you substitute 1/2 cup flour for 1/2 cup oats soaked in 3/4 cup boiling water you don't sacrafice moisture at all and it adds texture. I also used 1/3 cup apple sauce in place of 1/3 cup oil and cut brown sugar to 1 cup. I shared this with friends over for Sunday afternoon supper and they loved it. You can serve it warm out of the oven with a little whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Loved this bread, but the next time will add 1/4 cup of white sugar to balance out the tartness a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I have to admit, I was not optimistic about this bread because I'm not a fan of rhubarb, but I wanted to find a good recipe that my father would like. I was very happily surprised when this bread was done. The smell was so heavenly that I had to taste it and YUMMM!! I left the nuts out, but next time will try pecans or walnuts. This is definitely going in my family recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This is definitely a keeper. I made a few alterations, but it's mostly original. Just split the flour half/half white and wheat flour. And, split the oil, 1/3 cup oil and 1/3 cut unsweet. applesauce. I added and extra 1 tsp. vanilla and cinammon to the batter. Also, put in 1/2 cup more rhubarb (love it). Great recipe, just mix some powder sugar and lemon juice, and drizzle over loaves. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is a very good bread. I used buttermilk instead of milk and lemon juice and pecans instead of walnuts. I did not add the topping, and I always use more vanilla than called for. This is a keeper one for us. It stays nice and moist if it hangs around long enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is delicious! Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I love how this bread turns out, but it always takes longer to bake than 40 minutes. I've made twice now and both times I've turned the oven up to 350 after 40 minutes and it still takes a good 15-20 after that. Maybe it's my oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Yummy! I've just finished eating the first warm-from-the-oven loaflet, and it's delicious! I made 8 loaflets and a regular-sized loaf. Like other posters I subbed half applesauce for the oil, one cup of whole-wheat flour and added some spices to the batter. I added oats to the streusel topping, and left out the nuts because I didn't have any. I also used two cups of rhubarb (I was trying to get rid of my garden surplus--no luck, it was still only 3 stalks!). Great to have another recipe to add to my rhubarb repertoire! I'll add some chopped ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States