Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I have been making this recipe for six years now. I even freeze my rhubarb so I can make it all year round. Everyone that tastes it asks for the recipe. I love that the toping sinks to the bottom of the bread (or muffins) for a sweet suprise. I do make one modification and that is to add another 1/2 cup of rhubarb to the batter. Sweet and tangy. I would have never thought to add cinnamon to rhubarb but wow what a treat. Thanks, Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was very moist and good. The topping added a nice crunch even though it didn't look like it would. I think next time I will add a bit of cinnamon to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This is a family favorite and what we call a keeper. My three year old was very disappointed when it was all gone this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingerbreadgirl101

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Found myself with a lot of rhubarb so I made up a few batches of this wonderful bread. I looked at some of the reviews and tried it a couple of ways. The first I substituted 1 one snack cup of applesauce for part of the oil and increased the rhubarb to 2 cups. I also added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon into the batter. I added 1/4 cup oatmeal to the topping, increasing the butter slightly. It turned out wonderful. The second batch I didn't add the applesauce and increased the rhubarb to 1/2 cups - we really like rhubarb, and I really have a lot of it. This was good too, but I think I like it better with the applesauce. In the last batch I am used a slightly smaller pan as I like the bread a bit taller. That is still in the oven. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blvideen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
No much flavor. I've had better rhubarb bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
It was a really really moist bread! I think it would be great without the brown sugar topping. I made it dairy free because of my daughter's allergies. I subbed milk for soy milk and used shortening for the topping instead of butter. It was really good. It was my first time using rhubarb and I was thankful it turned out great! I used 2 cups of rhubarb though instead of the 1. I'm glad I did too because it seemed to be the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I wouldn't change a thing about it! ...and that's for eating rhubard for the 1st time as well! Actually, I did use 1 cup of whole wheat flour, but I often forget that is a change to note! I was a bit worried when the batter looked a bit runny, but all turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Outstanding!! I make breads all the time and out of all sorts of fruits and vegetables. This recipe now ranks in my top five quick breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This is one of the best rhubard bread I have ever had. I made a few changes, I used a total of 3 cups packed dark brown sugar, used apple sauce for the oil, added 1 additional egg, and used buttermilk instead of the milk and lemon juice. I also put a slice of cream cheese when putting the batter into the pan. Was a very nice change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This recipe is good. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I felt the bread was a little bland. If you didn't put the brown sugar/cinnamon/butter topping on the bread it wouldn't have much of a taste to it. So next time I make these I will either double the brown sugar mixture that goes on the top, or I will add cinnamon to the bread batter as someone else suggested. Also, I didn't have walnuts on hand (plus I don't like them), so I used pecans instead. I will use this recipe again as I have lots of rhubarb this time of year and am alway's looking for new ways to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States