Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Excellent! I have frozen some of my rhubarb and look forward to making this for the holidays. I used applesauce in place of the oil. Add 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the batter and included enough flour in the topping to make it crumbly. I made 1 regular sized loaf and 3 smaller loaves. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I also made the healthier version, doing half whole wheat flour and using applesauce instead of oil. I did not do the topping but sprinkled extra cinnamon on top. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I think this would be better if the topping were put in the middle of the loaf. The loaf itself lacks spice. I went ahead and used buttermilk instead of the milk/lemon mixture. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and cut back on the sugar like other reviews suggested. Did not like the addition of nuts to this bread. Don't know if I would make this again. Love rhubarb and the flavor just doesn't come through enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I get asked for this bread again and again...moist, and delicious. Freezes like a dream as well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammylou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Brydges, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I made a few changes. Cut down sugar to 1 cup. Added an extra cup of rhubarb. Used a bundt pan. Cooked an extra 15 minutes because of the pan. Did not use topping. Very very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This was more like a rhubarb coffee cake. My husband is a cook and he said that this was the best he has ever had. I doubled the topping and it just went throughout the entire loaf giving it a coffee cake texture and taste......made it for myself.......we devoured it....made it for work....same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry LaMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I've never had rhubarb bread before...this was delicious! Not too sweet like some breads, it was just right. The topping added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robbins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Super super super. By necessity, I'm off milk products at the moment, so I made this with unsweetened rice milk - though when I'm back on dairy, I think I'll try this recipe with buttermilk. Other minor changes: I omitted the topping just because I felt like it, used 1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour and 1 c. white, pecans instead of walnuts, and cooked it about 60 minutes. I think it would have been excellent with all whole wheat flour, and I would have definitely used applesauce instead of oil, had I had any applesauce or apples. Also, next time I think I'll experiment with agave or honey with a touch of molasses so as to scale back the refined sugars. Hah. After I make all the changes I want, if they work out, I'll post my own recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Great! I think next time I'd leave off the topping. I personally think it takes away from the rhubarb taste. I also replaced sugars with splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GLORIA LEE
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Great bread! I added 2 cups of rhubarb instead of 1.5 cups and 1 cup of toasted pecans instead of 1/2 cup. Also added cinnamon to the batter as other reviewers wrote. Coat the pans with baking spray and you won't have any stickage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States