Rhubarb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Delicious! Bakes 50-55minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
We love this bread. I use slivered almonds instead of walnuts. The only problem that I have encountered is that I believe 325 is too low to bake it. I had to bake it for 40 minutes to get my tester to come out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Excellent! I have frozen some of my rhubarb and look forward to making this for the holidays. I used applesauce in place of the oil. Add 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the batter and included enough flour in the topping to make it crumbly. I made 1 regular sized loaf and 3 smaller loaves. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I also made the healthier version, doing half whole wheat flour and using applesauce instead of oil. I did not do the topping but sprinkled extra cinnamon on top. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I think this would be better if the topping were put in the middle of the loaf. The loaf itself lacks spice. I went ahead and used buttermilk instead of the milk/lemon mixture. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and cut back on the sugar like other reviews suggested. Did not like the addition of nuts to this bread. Don't know if I would make this again. Love rhubarb and the flavor just doesn't come through enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I get asked for this bread again and again...moist, and delicious. Freezes like a dream as well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammylou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Brydges, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I made a few changes. Cut down sugar to 1 cup. Added an extra cup of rhubarb. Used a bundt pan. Cooked an extra 15 minutes because of the pan. Did not use topping. Very very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This was more like a rhubarb coffee cake. My husband is a cook and he said that this was the best he has ever had. I doubled the topping and it just went throughout the entire loaf giving it a coffee cake texture and taste......made it for myself.......we devoured it....made it for work....same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry LaMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I've never had rhubarb bread before...this was delicious! Not too sweet like some breads, it was just right. The topping added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robbins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Super super super. By necessity, I'm off milk products at the moment, so I made this with unsweetened rice milk - though when I'm back on dairy, I think I'll try this recipe with buttermilk. Other minor changes: I omitted the topping just because I felt like it, used 1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour and 1 c. white, pecans instead of walnuts, and cooked it about 60 minutes. I think it would have been excellent with all whole wheat flour, and I would have definitely used applesauce instead of oil, had I had any applesauce or apples. Also, next time I think I'll experiment with agave or honey with a touch of molasses so as to scale back the refined sugars. Hah. After I make all the changes I want, if they work out, I'll post my own recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States