Rhubarb Berry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Used a mixture of rhubarb, blackberries, raspberries, strawberries, blueberries and cherries instead of the all rhubarb (didn’t have enough of any of the fruits so used a combination), and used cherry pie filling instead of blueberry. This turned out amazingly wonderful!!! No one has been able to keep their lips off of it and I’m making another batch just one week later! This is reminiscent of the ‘fruiti di bosco’ jam we fell in love with while stationed in Italy. Update: Running low on Rhubarb I added some frozen cranberries to make up for the tartness - wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebewaing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I first made this last year and it went so fast that this year I did all by shopping at cash and carry so I could buy in bulk and I did up 48 pints hoping it would last all year, NOT! my family puts it on everything and I maen everything. It's my husbands favorite and he tries to hide it from the kids. Who ever thought this up, Thank you from the bottom of my heart, it cans with a hot water bath great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
My family loved this recipe. Its a keeper for me. I followed another reveiw and cut the rhubarb in smaller chunks. I cooked for a couple minutes longer than it said. I will be making this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I'm always adapting recipes to meet my personal taste. I added a couple more cups of fresh rhubarb and cut the sugar by 1/2 cup. Then I processed by waterbath for 10 minutes. With these minor changes, it made twelve 1/2 pints of this scrumptious jam. Everyone I've given it to as a gift has raved how great it is! Not too sweet nor too tart. Plus I really like the blend of flavors with the three berries and the rhubarb. Great Recipe!!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This jam was very easy to make. I froze it instead of canning it because I don't have a pot large enough for canning. Everyone who has tried it has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This recipe was SUPER EASY to do. And it tastes wonderful. I chopped the rhubarb alot finer than it calls for, but that is just a preference. I would like to figure out how to make it a little runnier too so that it could be made a syrup for pancakes. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
DEFINATELY WORTH MORE THAN 5 STARS! This is an AWESOME jam recipe! I made my 1st batch for my daughters' school staff. (I used 1/2 cup less sugar than called for + add 1 cup strawberries) I only had 1/2 a jar that I was able to keep for myself. I basically ate it all out of the jar that 1st night. The following week I decided to make another batch, this time with cherry pie filling & forgot to reduce the sugar to 2-1/2 cups. I really liked this too, but not as much as the blueberry. To sum up: --Blueberry better than Cherry (but, can't go wrong with either!!!) --3 cups sugar IS a bit too sweet, 2-1/2 cups is PERFECT! --add strawberries for that extra umpf of YUMMINESS! --fast & very easy to make/use up rhubarb (P.S.: Teachers begged that I make it again next year for teachers' gifts.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I had some already-chopped rhubarb in the freezer from our still-producing crop of rhubarb that I need to find ways to use. This is the easiest, quickest jam I have ever made! With sugar in the blueberry pie filling, and in the strawberry & raspberry Jello, I reduced the amount of sugar from 3c to 2.5c. This was just right. This yielded 4.5 pints of jam which I will be freezing. It is delicious! Thank you, Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This is a wonderful jam and is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Kapp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
EXCELLENT!!! My new favorite jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Fresh Berry Jam

See the simple way to turn fresh berries into delicious jam.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States