Rhubarb Berry Cheesecake Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
The reason some of your cheesecakes haven't set is because the lemon juice is the setting agent. If you reduce it, the filling will be runnier. The acid in the juice denatures some of the protein in the cream cheese and milk and causes it to curdle and stiffen. Because it is such a small amount of acid the curdle isn't like you imagine - all lumpy, instead it just causes it to thicken. If you don't want it to be so lemony, used gelatin or agar to set the filling instead. I hope this helps. Oh and if your lemon juice is old, it might not work as well as fresh. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This recipe gets 4 stars for flavor, but only 1 star for the fact that the filling just would not set. I followed the recipe to the letter and refrigerated the filling for 4 hours before adding the cooled topping. Even after refrigerating for another 7 hours, the filling was so runny. I ended up putting it into the freezer to try and salvage it, but it still didn't completely firm up. Plus that kind of ruined the topping for me, which became icy. But, the topping is amazing. I would have no problem making the topping again to put on a different cheesecake filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My sisters loved this recipe! Perfect for a summer BBQ. Even my neices and nephews enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was divine. The contrast between the tart berry topping and the very sweet, creamy filling is perfect. I chose raspberries to go with the rhubarb, which I think increased the tartness of the topping slightly. Using strawberries would make it a touch sweeter, but the filling is sweet enough that you almost want the extra tartness in the topping. This is also easy and quick to pull together, and yet it looks and tastes anything but ordinary. Great, refreshing summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Nice and tart and sweet. Got great reviews from my coworkers. My cheesecake did not set up quite as much as I had liked. I only used 3 1/2 Tbsp of lemon juice only because that is what I had. Next time I may leave out the lemon juice and just add more zest. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil_one101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Made this one exactly as written. My husband told me to throw out our other strawberry/rhubarb cheesecake pie recipe. The lemon in the cheesecake is a nice addition to the strawberry and rhubarb flavors. Thank you, LeeAnn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Yum! This dessert was very tasty indeed. I used rhubarb that had been frozen since last summer, so I only had to bring it to a boil, since it was already soft from having been frozen. And I did cut back to 4 tbsp of lemon juice in the cream cheese mixture (mainly because I didn't have very much on hand). It still came out great, and got rave reviews from my husband. I plan to try this with raspberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very tasty! I had never used rhubarb before, and was pleasantly surprised. The rhubarb and lemon gave the pie a nice tart flavor. The only thing I changed was that I used 3 tbsp of lemon juice in the filling instead of 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States