Rhubarb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Made this today with fresh rhubarb, really good. My husband even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I loved the strawberry jello and rhubarb idea, but really didn't like the taste of the crust. A crust with a bit more sugar would be nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
These are SO easy and my kids think they are better than pie! I've made them twice. The first time followed the recipe as written and they were a hit at a party. The second time, I used half brown sugar and half white for the topping which resulted in a more golden brown color and a richer flavor which I preferred. Both times I made them in the jelly roll pan and they turned out great. Either way, if you like rhubarb, these are a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Made this exactly as directed. I agree with the majority of posters who liked the filling and topping but found the crust disappointing and tasteless. Will make again using a shortbread crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Easy and delicious! I love fruit bars but the store/bakery ones often have too much sugar and contain gluten. I just made this using buckwheat flour and a few tbs of potato starch to be sure the dough didn't get soggy from fruit. I froze the butter and chilled the dough a bit after putting in bottom of dish. I used fresh strawberries and halved the entire recipe. I tried a corner as a taste test and ended up eating a quarter if the pan! Next time I'll add more than the required amount of butter and more fruit as the crust was a bit dry, but that means it can take a thick layer of fruit. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Loved this! I followed some of the reviews and doubled the crust. Next I will make it as written. Doubling made the crust too thick to the amount of topping. And the topping is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
These were yummy. My husband is a rhubarb freak and he liked these a lot. They were very tangy, reminiscent of the tang of a lemon square. The only thing that could be improved is that the Jell-o masks the rhubarb flavor. Next time, I would try it with half the Jell-o mix and see if the rhubarb flavor is stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe for rhubarb! I made some slight adjustments - I added 1/2 cup sugar to the crust and used one cup white sugar and one cup brown sugar for the topping (instead of two cups white sugar). Turned out great and my kids loved it. A very nice sweet and tart recipe added to the collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krbinggeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe!!!I added cinnamon and small amt of salt to both the bottom and top layers, and added 1 cup of fresh rhubarb to the middle and one cup of oatmeal to the top layer, and sprinkled the top with cinnamon to make it superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Margaret Warren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
INCREDIBLE!! This recipe takes me back to my childhood days... Quick, simple and full of the flavor of summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States