Rhode Island Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I grew up in RI and have enjoyed RI clam chowder over any other. This recipe includes hot pepper sauce, and fresh parsley which I have never seen in RI chowder. It is missing the bay leaf and I use dry parsley. Either way (my way) or the recipe I think it would be wonderful. Now that I live in TN I use the #5 can (large 50 oz) from a food warehouse in place of the clams and broth. I go to GFS FOOD WAREHOUSE, Sysco and others are available where ever you live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Excellent with the following revisions (suggested by other reviewers): reduced dill to 2 tablespoons, black pepper to 1 teaspoon, used Snow's canned clams & fresh baby bliss potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Hickson Haliotis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Made this over the weekend it was fantastic .I doubled the recipe used fresh clams I used low salt chicken broth I didn't use the dill because I am not a fan of dill didn't do the salt and only added 2 teaspoons of the pepper everyone enjoyed .will be keeping this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I tried this earlier in the summer due to it's simplicity, the flavor was fantastic! However, I did omit the salt and cut the dill and the black pepper to 1 TBS each, it was still a little too hot (and I love hot food). Just made it again and dropped the pepper to 1 tsp. Much better! I used fresh potatoes both times and canned clams the 2nd time. I love the flavor of this chowder. It is a keeper! Thanks. To those who reviewed and said they added cream to it....you want a recipe for New England Clam chowder, the beauty of the RI style is the clear broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Absolutely delicious....I used fresh fingerling potatoes and the clams were fresh chopped... and only one tablespoons of dill and 4 squits of the Tabasco sauce and only a teaspoon of black pepper....also....I added bits of freshly made bacon (I know....not so healthy)...so delicious. Very quick and easy...a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
needed acidity. I ended up adding 1 chopped tomato and a good squirt of ketchup. It ended up being ok but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I used fresh razor clams , fresh potatoes and a little less bill and we loved it. A great alternative for a much healthier clam chowder .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Excellent, I made the following changes to make it easier: fried garlic (I assume the omission of garlic was a typo! ha) and onions together in the sauce pan then added a 3lb can of chopped sea clams in juice (instead of 1lb clams and 3 cups of juice). After that came to a boil I added the rest of the ingredients. I used 5 celery stalks, added 3 carrots, and only used 1/2 tsp of dill. Amazing flavor, amazingly easy. Made again in a crockpot - perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kev321

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. I used fresh clams but next time will double the amount of clams. I did not use cayenne or hot sauce but added a little red pepper flakes. We love onions so I used one large vidalia. I liked using the canned potatoes because they added to the ease of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Sock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I tried this recipe and it is good, but for my taste way too much dill. I am a midwest girl so maybe that is the dif in taste. Good though..may want to cut dill in half the first time and add next time according to taste. I used canned clams for this as fresh are expensive in my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States