Rhode Island Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Absolutely delicious....I used fresh fingerling potatoes and the clams were fresh chopped... and only one tablespoons of dill and 4 squits of the Tabasco sauce and only a teaspoon of black pepper....also....I added bits of freshly made bacon (I know....not so healthy)...so delicious. Very quick and easy...a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
needed acidity. I ended up adding 1 chopped tomato and a good squirt of ketchup. It ended up being ok but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I used fresh razor clams , fresh potatoes and a little less bill and we loved it. A great alternative for a much healthier clam chowder .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Excellent, I made the following changes to make it easier: fried garlic (I assume the omission of garlic was a typo! ha) and onions together in the sauce pan then added a 3lb can of chopped sea clams in juice (instead of 1lb clams and 3 cups of juice). After that came to a boil I added the rest of the ingredients. I used 5 celery stalks, added 3 carrots, and only used 1/2 tsp of dill. Amazing flavor, amazingly easy. Made again in a crockpot - perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kev321

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. I used fresh clams but next time will double the amount of clams. I did not use cayenne or hot sauce but added a little red pepper flakes. We love onions so I used one large vidalia. I liked using the canned potatoes because they added to the ease of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Sock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I tried this recipe and it is good, but for my taste way too much dill. I am a midwest girl so maybe that is the dif in taste. Good though..may want to cut dill in half the first time and add next time according to taste. I used canned clams for this as fresh are expensive in my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Great basic recipe with a few tweaks.In place of the chicken stock use water and clam base. But be careful as a little base adds a tremendous amount of clam flavor.I also add thyme in place of the dill.And,the more clams the better!I live here in Rhode Island and this chowder ranks up there with the best of them!My family say's even better! Serve with clam cakes....you must dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I enjoye this recipe except for the dill otherwise it's the same chowder I enjoyed while living in North Kingston RI. Most people don't understand why there's no cream or tomato . A day of quahoging made it so enjoyable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very nice soup, savory, and tasty but somewhat light and refreshing. If you love miso you may appreciate this one. I love New England Clam Chowder but can't bring myself to make it at home without cringing at the amounts of creme and butter. I have two kids who do love soup so I omitted salt, pepper, Cayenne and hot sauce. Those I put on the table and allow the adults to adjust as needed.The canned clams have a LOT of salt already, adults might want to resist the urge to oversalt as well. Used three stalks of celery, 4 bay leaves, tablespoon of dried thyme. I found thyme to be mentioned several times in other versions of this recipe and I favor thyme in almost all saucy, coupy dishes. Forgot to add parsley too. No dill Very good soup with the perfect ratio of solids to soup, small amount of richness visible from top. Potatos are soft and fall aparty, clams firm and slightly chewy, celery and onion transluscent and disappears on tongue. Soup itself is slightly briney but has the freshness of the celery to clean up any yucky taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Loved this chowder. I live in RI and this is as good as any restaurant chowder. I decreased the dill to 2 tsps, used 1 onion, canned clams and fresh potatoes. I licked my bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States