Rhinelander Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I would have given this 5 stars, but went with 4 because it needed to be tweaked. Add extra carrots, lentils and potatoes, reduce flour to 1/2 c. and liquid to 3 Qts. and omit the olive oil and bouillion and you'll end up with a much heartier and healthier soup! Be sure to cook on low, low heat and stir often. I also used chicken broth for 2 qts. of the liquid and salted to taste after cooking because I wasn't sure how salty my bacon was. I'm not a big fan of thyme and 1/2 tsp was enough for me. I also used a teaspoon each of powdered onion and garlic, no fresh. Guess that was alot of tweaking....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
I doubled the amount of lentils and tripled the amount of potatoes and there was still plenty of broth to handle the increase. This soup is very tasty, but at almost 13grams of fat per serving (that is 50% fat!), I would hardly call it "healthy" despite the healthy lentil and vegetable ingredients. For this reason, I decreased the bacon to 4 slices and added only 1 teaspoon of olive oil, instead of the 4 tablespoons called for. I still found the soup to be rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Did not care for the flour - soup tended to stick and needed constant attention while simmering - I prefer to add cornstarch to thicken at the end of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I enjoyed this recipe and it turned out to be a hearty delicious soup. Don't cover while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Excellent. I was generous on the portions of potato, onion, celery, and carrot. Used canned beef broth over bouillon - just adjusted water accordingly. Served w/the Whole Wheat Beer Bread from this site - best lentil soup I have had. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
LOVE THIS SOUP!!!!!! We recently visited a Reinlanders and had this soup. My husband liked it so much he had to find out how to make it. Everyone we served it to loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon VanSickle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This is a great soup recipe. My entire family enjoyed it and it was easy to make. I was out of dried Thyme, so I used some dried Rosemary instead. It was delicious and I will definitely make this soup regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
I chose this recipe because I had all the ingredients on hand. This is the first time I've ever made soup, and it turned out delicious! Very hearty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAINCLOUD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Wonderful recipe for my toddler. Just omitted the bacon and salt and used low-sodium broth, and it made a very healthy soup for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Made this for my boyfriend who loves lentil soup. I followed the recipe exactly and it was outstanding! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States