Rhinelander Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Excellent. I was generous on the portions of potato, onion, celery, and carrot. Used canned beef broth over bouillon - just adjusted water accordingly. Served w/the Whole Wheat Beer Bread from this site - best lentil soup I have had. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Tasty and filling! I made a batch of beer bread (a classic college student recipe, haha) to dip in it and it was great! I can't believe I got my roommates to eat something without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gherkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prompton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Made this for my boyfriend who loves lentil soup. I followed the recipe exactly and it was outstanding! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
LOVE THIS SOUP!!!!!! We recently visited a Reinlanders and had this soup. My husband liked it so much he had to find out how to make it. Everyone we served it to loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon and Alaina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This is a great soup recipe. My entire family enjoyed it and it was easy to make. I was out of dried Thyme, so I used some dried Rosemary instead. It was delicious and I will definitely make this soup regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
My family loved this! I didn't have bacon so I used ham. If you don't stir it a lot it really sticks to the bottom of the pot. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Did not care for the flour - soup tended to stick and needed constant attention while simmering - I prefer to add cornstarch to thicken at the end of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Wonderful recipe for my toddler. Just omitted the bacon and salt and used low-sodium broth, and it made a very healthy soup for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
A very good soup. Probably should allow a little more time to soften the lentils as they are a very hard bean. Like others, I doubled the amount of lentils but basically this is a very good recipe. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
I doubled the amount of lentils and tripled the amount of potatoes and there was still plenty of broth to handle the increase. This soup is very tasty, but at almost 13grams of fat per serving (that is 50% fat!), I would hardly call it "healthy" despite the healthy lentil and vegetable ingredients. For this reason, I decreased the bacon to 4 slices and added only 1 teaspoon of olive oil, instead of the 4 tablespoons called for. I still found the soup to be rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States