Rhinelander Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
I chose this recipe because I had all the ingredients on hand. This is the first time I've ever made soup, and it turned out delicious! Very hearty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAINCLOUD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
Absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I enjoyed this recipe and it turned out to be a hearty delicious soup. Don't cover while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
Tis recipe was basically very good. I made a few modifications and it came out really good. After thinking about the water to lentil ratio I increased the amount of lentils to 1 1/2 cups. I also added a can of diced tomatoes, juice and all. Also the ratio of salt/bouillon to water and veggies was in my opinion to little. I passed on the salt alltogether and used chicken bouillon in powdered form. I put in about 1/4tsp for every 1 cup of water. I was out of both thyme and white pepper. So I passed on the thyme and used black pepper instead. Also I added six cloves of garlic, two handfulls of fresh spinach, and a few fresh green beans for pizazz. Another thing I did was add another cup of carrots. My 4 and 5 year old loved it. They usually don't like anything. I think that next time I make this soup I will add more potatos. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
Very good soup! I added some extra veggies and skipped the salt since the bacon is already salty, and it was just fine. Very easy to make and a great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
My picky 6 year old loved this soup. It was very easy too. I cut the amount of flour by more than half and used just a teaspoon of salt. Inexpensive and easy ... my kind of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
The name of this soup got my interest! My mom was born in Rhinelander Wisconsin so I just HAD to give it a try. This is a wonderful soup! My 3 yr old son even loves it! I made it exactly per this recipe and didn't think it needed any alterations what-so-ever! I made a pan of focacia bread to eat along with it and it was an excellent meal! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
A very good soup. Probably should allow a little more time to soften the lentils as they are a very hard bean. Like others, I doubled the amount of lentils but basically this is a very good recipe. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
My family loved this! I didn't have bacon so I used ham. If you don't stir it a lot it really sticks to the bottom of the pot. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This is a great soup recipe. My entire family enjoyed it and it was easy to make. I was out of dried Thyme, so I used some dried Rosemary instead. It was delicious and I will definitely make this soup regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States