Rhinelander Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Excellent lentil soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was good but I added more lentils making it a bit thicker. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Made this soup today and it is very bland. I usually follow a recipe to the letter the first time, which I did. Next time, if there is a next time, I'll use chicken broth instead of water, no bouillon and figure out other spices that provide flavor. I'm very disappointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was an excellent soup..i can't say enough about it! The recipe was right on i didn't have to do a thing to change it. I'll be making this soup over and over again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I loved this recipe. I used ham instead of bacon because I had it on hand. I also used more salt than the recipe called for and added some black pepper to taste. The thyme gives this soup a fabulous taste, and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This recipe was tasty, but not out-of-this world. I doubled the veggies and lentils and omitted to flour. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
With just a couple of changes, this was a very satisfying soup. I omitted the olive oil and flour, used 1-1/2 cups of lentils, used about 2 quarts of beef broth + 2 quarts of water, and added one can (15 oz.) of diced tomatoes and about 3 cups of shredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Basic Rating is 4.5 stars. I've made this basic soup for many years and usually make a double batch. More veggies and less bacon is fine. I generally cook all but potato for 2+ hours and add pre-cooked diced potato (and potato water) in the last time before serving; keeps the potatoes from going to mush. Broth in place of water is a good choice. A robust, mostly veggie recipe that is always good. Chef Mager's Rhinelander has been around for ages. It used to be a wonderful, fun place, but nothing lasts forever. I don't go there any more, but I do make this ROBUST soup often. Be bold: Add things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
To make this soup healthier without losing any flavor, cook the bacon alone in your soup pan till its very well done. If you stir often and cook over med heat it won't burn. All the fat pieces should be a dark golden color. Then drain all the fat out of the pan and add in the veggies. Add a bit of water or stock to deglaze the pan and help the veg cook. Then follow the recipe as written. Viola, no bacon fat, no extra oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I have to admit I was very leery of lentil soup - I'd never had it before but just happened to have some lentils in my pantry that needed to be used. I did make several changes to the recipe, but it turned out just delicious. I did not use the olive oil, as the bacon drippings provided enough grease to saute the veggies in. Left out the flour and nutmeg, and substituted 28 oz. crushed tomatoes for the potatoes. I also added just under a cup of red wine. Such a rich flavor, and very economical to make. The soup is so hearty, my meat eating man even enjoyed this. I'm hooked on lentil soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States