Rhinelander Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
I doubled the amount of lentils and tripled the amount of potatoes and there was still plenty of broth to handle the increase. This soup is very tasty, but at almost 13grams of fat per serving (that is 50% fat!), I would hardly call it "healthy" despite the healthy lentil and vegetable ingredients. For this reason, I decreased the bacon to 4 slices and added only 1 teaspoon of olive oil, instead of the 4 tablespoons called for. I still found the soup to be rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
The name of this soup got my interest! My mom was born in Rhinelander Wisconsin so I just HAD to give it a try. This is a wonderful soup! My 3 yr old son even loves it! I made it exactly per this recipe and didn't think it needed any alterations what-so-ever! I made a pan of focacia bread to eat along with it and it was an excellent meal! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
My picky 6 year old loved this soup. It was very easy too. I cut the amount of flour by more than half and used just a teaspoon of salt. Inexpensive and easy ... my kind of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
Very good soup! I added some extra veggies and skipped the salt since the bacon is already salty, and it was just fine. Very easy to make and a great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
Tis recipe was basically very good. I made a few modifications and it came out really good. After thinking about the water to lentil ratio I increased the amount of lentils to 1 1/2 cups. I also added a can of diced tomatoes, juice and all. Also the ratio of salt/bouillon to water and veggies was in my opinion to little. I passed on the salt alltogether and used chicken bouillon in powdered form. I put in about 1/4tsp for every 1 cup of water. I was out of both thyme and white pepper. So I passed on the thyme and used black pepper instead. Also I added six cloves of garlic, two handfulls of fresh spinach, and a few fresh green beans for pizazz. Another thing I did was add another cup of carrots. My 4 and 5 year old loved it. They usually don't like anything. I think that next time I make this soup I will add more potatos. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I enjoyed this recipe and it turned out to be a hearty delicious soup. Don't cover while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
Absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I was disappointed in the consistency of this soup. It is touted as "hearty," but turns out very thin. Also, thankfully, I didn't add all of the thyme and I'm glad I didn't. 3/4 of a teaspoon was almost too much. Also, it required 3 teaspoons of salt instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
I chose this recipe because I had all the ingredients on hand. This is the first time I've ever made soup, and it turned out delicious! Very hearty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAINCLOUD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States