Rhinelander Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
What a great soup for a cold day. I actually got my boyfriend to enjoy lentils!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This is delicious! The family even liked it! My husband said it was "The best lentil soup I have ever had" and said it was "restraunt-quality" and to "keep this recipe!". So there you have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Great recipe. I tried it without the bacon and substituted real stock for the bullion and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I omitted nutmeg and bouillon. Used beef stock, cuts salty taste. Very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
the instructions aren't good like you can't crisp bacon with onions and carrots together and I never put flour in soup. If I were to make this soup again I would use Canadian bacon not the regular bacon that makes more sense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was delicious! Although I made some tweaks as well...used half beef broth half water (with a beef bullion cube) for my liquid. Added garlic (how does one cook with out garlic??!!) and a can of diced tomatoes. I also sprinkled in some red pepper flakes with my veggies while they cooked down in the bacon. Didn't have nutmeg, didn't miss it. I let my soup reduce/simmer for almost 4 hours, if I did that again I would add the potatoes later as they were a bit mushy. I don't really measure when I cook, just used this recipe as a general guideline and it turned out wonderful and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Easy and simple recipe. I used freshly made chicken broth and did not add the potatoes just because I didn't have any. Based on lots of reviews saying that they needed to add lentils and more veggies, I took the other route and only used about 6 cups of broth and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
By far the best Lentil soup recipe. The flour and potato add a lovely texture of creaminess not found in Lentil soup; the nutmeg and white pepper are subtle and interesting flavor notes. A wholesome and healthy soup that will be enjoyed by all! More lentils may be added, yet the original recipe will not be compromised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andreaconrady
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent soup recipe. I grew up going to the Rhinelander and loving this soup. I used organic beef broth as a substitute to bullion cubes. You could easily omit the bacon and use vegetable broth for a vegetarian option. I stirred every 20-30 minutes to prevent sticking on the bottom. Towards the end I covered it because the potatoes and carrots were not tender. Turned out wonderful in the 3 hours. Next time, I will try the crockpot. I have made other lentil soup in the crockpot that turned out great so this would be no exception. The only thing I noticed while eating is that the Rhinelander has leeks in their lentil soup but it was still pretty close. Everyone we made it for raved about the flavor. A great hearty soup for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Excellent lentil soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States