Rhinelander Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
To make it vegan / vegetarian, I used 1 smoked tofu block and added 2 tbs of oil extra. Double the carrots and the potatoes. I also used vegetarian beef broth cubes. Yummy winter stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anoushka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
What a great soup for a cold day. I actually got my boyfriend to enjoy lentils!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This is delicious! The family even liked it! My husband said it was "The best lentil soup I have ever had" and said it was "restraunt-quality" and to "keep this recipe!". So there you have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Great recipe. I tried it without the bacon and substituted real stock for the bullion and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I omitted nutmeg and bouillon. Used beef stock, cuts salty taste. Very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
the instructions aren't good like you can't crisp bacon with onions and carrots together and I never put flour in soup. If I were to make this soup again I would use Canadian bacon not the regular bacon that makes more sense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was delicious! Although I made some tweaks as well...used half beef broth half water (with a beef bullion cube) for my liquid. Added garlic (how does one cook with out garlic??!!) and a can of diced tomatoes. I also sprinkled in some red pepper flakes with my veggies while they cooked down in the bacon. Didn't have nutmeg, didn't miss it. I let my soup reduce/simmer for almost 4 hours, if I did that again I would add the potatoes later as they were a bit mushy. I don't really measure when I cook, just used this recipe as a general guideline and it turned out wonderful and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Easy and simple recipe. I used freshly made chicken broth and did not add the potatoes just because I didn't have any. Based on lots of reviews saying that they needed to add lentils and more veggies, I took the other route and only used about 6 cups of broth and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
By far the best Lentil soup recipe. The flour and potato add a lovely texture of creaminess not found in Lentil soup; the nutmeg and white pepper are subtle and interesting flavor notes. A wholesome and healthy soup that will be enjoyed by all! More lentils may be added, yet the original recipe will not be compromised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andreaconrady
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent soup recipe. I grew up going to the Rhinelander and loving this soup. I used organic beef broth as a substitute to bullion cubes. You could easily omit the bacon and use vegetable broth for a vegetarian option. I stirred every 20-30 minutes to prevent sticking on the bottom. Towards the end I covered it because the potatoes and carrots were not tender. Turned out wonderful in the 3 hours. Next time, I will try the crockpot. I have made other lentil soup in the crockpot that turned out great so this would be no exception. The only thing I noticed while eating is that the Rhinelander has leeks in their lentil soup but it was still pretty close. Everyone we made it for raved about the flavor. A great hearty soup for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States